$35.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Of Dreams & Shadows» Forums » Rules

Subject: combat confusion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
On p. 5 it says that you pass a test if the result is equal to or higher than the difficulty score (top of page). Under 'attacking' right below that, it says that "if a player succeeds in the attack test, then the foe loses health equal to the difference."

What happens if the numbers are the same? According to the top of the page, this is a 'success' yet there is no difference between the two numbers is zero so does this mean you 'succeed' but don't get to deal a wound?

Am I misunderstanding something or are the rules confusing and inconsistent?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Alford
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
designer
For most tests, you add the die roll to the relevant trait and compare against a difficulty score. If you match or exceed the score, you pass the test.

Combat is handled a bit differently. It's not about passing or failing in a scenario, but inflicting damage against a Foe and preventing damage to your Champion. Combat proceeds with successive rounds. You must attack and defend in each round. When attacking, you roll a die and add to your Might. The difference above the Foe's defense score is how much damage you inflict. You then roll again and add to Agility and try to match or beat the Foe's attack score to prevent damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kiamar wrote:
The difference above the Foe's defense score is how much damage you inflict.
So you're saying that if the difference is 0 you 'win' that round but inflict no damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.