Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Non-Hunter Evaded; doesn't move? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I Evaded a monster and ran away, leaving it behind. If it is not a Hunter, does it just hang out in that room until someone enters it? I think so, but wanted to be sure...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Kløve
Denmark
Hillerød
flag msg tools
badge
The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, only Hunters move, the rest stay where they are.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
There's an interesting interaction here which I think is worth highlighting.

Turn 5, Investigation Phase: You are engaged with a Hunter-type enemy in the Kitchen. You spend an action on Evade. It exhausts and disengages. You spend an action moving to an adjacent location, the Garden. You spend your last action healing (you're very low on health, and this enemy hits hard).

Turn 5, Enemy Phase: Hunter enemy is exhausted, it does nothing.

Turn 5, Upkeep Phase: Hunter enemy unexhausts in the Kitchen.

***If you stay in the Garden here, you are going to take unavoidable damage --

Turn 6, Investigation Phase: You stay in the Garden and do some Stuff. You need these clues desperately.

Turn 6, Enemy Phase: Hunter enemy moves into the Garden. Hunter enemy attacks you for three damage.

***To avoid that, you might move one more location away, if possible (obviously not back into the Kitchen). Or, you might move back into the Kitchen, Evade again, move back into the Garden..? Not much accomplished. Desperately heal, or armour yourself against the unavoidable attack that is pending.


Point being, evading a Hunter type and moving to an adjacent location gives that enemy the ability to move into your location and immediately deal damage to you without an opportunity of your own to counteract it (special abilities notwithstanding). If you cannot handle this enemy, it might be better (safer) to remain in its location so you can continue Evade-locking it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.