$30.00
Gary Hammond
New Zealand
Christchurch
Canterbury
flag msg tools
mbmb
Context:
I am a newbie to RPG and D&D style games with Descent being the first dungeon crawl I have played. I like to play solo games and I really enjoy games like Zombicide with multiple players. I also tend to prefer coop games. I have only played through Forgotten Souls (FS) once and will update this post after I have done some more play throughs.

I purchased Descent and tried to have a go solo playing Heirs of Blood both as the overlord and the heros. Big mistake! I have not tried Road to Legend yet either. So my experience is a couple of false starts and one solid play through.

Be warned, there will be some bias in this review as I only have Zombicide to compare against for monster AI, thematics and play experience.

The stuff in the box:
There is not a lot in the box for FS. There are the peril cards, monster activations and encounter cards along with the help sheet and doom/fate/loot card. As others have pointed out, having to print out the manual is an inconvenience but has probably been done to keep the costs down (or profits up). Quality is on a par with the main Descent components.

Rules:
As I had a poor initial introduction to Descent I thought I would prepare myself a bit more this time. I have read through every post in the FS forum trying to pay particular attention to the rules questions. My initial impressions of the base Descent rule book is that the majority of the rules are there however it is very poorly indexed and the rules are scattered throughout the book. There are a number of times I have seen a rules question in the forum where the answer was in the rules book but was in an odd place. Another point is that the font and size of the text is woeful for those of us who have less than 20/20 vision. These comments also apply to the rule book for FS.