$35.00
Recommend
35 
 Thumb up
 Hide
30 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: FAQ for Arkham Horror LCG (Core Set cards) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Arkham Horror: The Card Game has just been released, and new players keep asking rules questions about interactions between the various cards in the core set. Here are the answers to the most frequent of these questions, as well as certain interactions that are not clearly addressed in the Rules Reference Guide (confirmed by the lead designer Matthew Newman).

FAQ for Arkham Horror LCG (Core Set cards)
42 
 Thumb up
1.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Very useful. Thank you very much!

Bye
Thanee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Gambatese
United States
Mentor
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
would love to get this as a text file or pdf or something i can print out
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
barbarianprince wrote:
would love to get this as a text file or pdf or something i can print out


I just now copied and pasted it into Notepad, it looks fine.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
I just copied and pasted it into Word.
Give it a bit of a tidy up and it will be just fine.
Phoenix
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
All FAQ entries have been added to individual card pages on ArkhamDB, e.g. Cover Up.

If you ever have a rules question about a particular card, check its page on arkhamdb. If you don't find an answer there, contact me and I'll add it (if it's a frequent or complex enough question).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
I am just giving this a bump (part of the solution, not part of the problem right) to remind people there is an FAQ for this game that mplain (and others) worked extremely hard to collate. It may have the answer to your question.

If anyone knows how to request a sticky, I looked but could not find anything, then I think that would be a great idea.

Phoenix
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
Bumping for the poster who is too lazy to use the search function.

Phoenix
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've had trouble with the link at the top of the page. A link just to the database is:

http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/arkhamhorror/arkham-horr...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
barbarianprince wrote:
would love to get this as a text file or pdf or something i can print out


I just now copied and pasted it into Notepad, it looks fine.


Hey, it's still there! It looks like this:

Roland Banks

- You can only 'discover' a clue if there is a clue on your location.

* * * * *

Cover Up

- If there are no clues on your location, you cannot use the Reaction ability on Cover Up.

- Once you discard all clues from Cover Up, it stays in your threat area until the end of the scenario.

* * * * *

The Necronomicon

- If you add this to your hand without drawing (e.g. via Research Librarian), the Revelation ability still triggers.

* * * * *

Dark Memory

- You cannot choose to discard a Weakness card from your hand, neither for exceeding the max number of cards in hand, nor for card effects that make you 'choose and discard'. You can, however, discard it at random, or if an effect makes you discard your whole hand.

- If you have Dark Memory in your hand when you draw Amnesia, you must choose and discard all other cards, and keep Dark Memory.

* * * * *

Wendy's Amulet

- You can only play the card as an Event, you cannot commit it to skill tests ('Play' and 'Commit' are two different game terms).

* * * * *

Beat Cop

- You cannot use Beat Cop's ability if you assign lethal damage/horror to it.

* * * * *

Guard Dog

- You can use Guard Dog's ability if you assign lethal damage/horror to it.

* * * * *

Dodge

- If the attacking enemy has a Forced ability that says "When attacks" or "After attacks", that ability does not trigger if an attack is Dodged.

- When a Massive enemy attacks each investigator in its location, Dodge will cancel only one of these attacks, not all of them.

* * * * *

Mind over Matter

- When making a Combat or Agility skill test, you may make an Intellect test instead.

- Skill icons on committed cards and other skill bonuses are not converted.

* * * * *

Barricade

- If an investigator that is engaged with an enemy moves to a Barricaded location, the engaged enemy will disengage and remain in the investigator's previous location (after making an attack of opportunity).

* * * * *

Deduction

- The word 'Additional' means 'in addition to other clues you discover', i.e. it modifies the number of clues that you would find, it does not add an extra effect on top of any other effects (e.g. does not stack with Burglary).

* * * * *

Disc of Itzamna

- The enemy is not defeated so you do not add it to your Victory Display if it has victory points, and reactions to an enemy being defeated (e.g. Roland Banks, Evidence!) do not trigger.

* * * * *

Burglary

- You can use Burglary even if there are no clues on your location.

* * * * *

Pickpocketing

- If you use this to draw a card with the same triggering condition (e.g. Close Call), you can play that card during the same reaction window.

* * * * *

Elusive

- You can move to any revealed location with no enemies, not necessarily a connecting one.

* * * * *

Sure Gamble

- Works with special tokens that reference the scenario card.

* * * * *

Drawn to the Flame

- Resolve any keywords and Revelation abilities on the encounter card before discovering clues.

* * * * *

Scavenging

- You can successfully Investigate a location even if there are no clues on it.

* * * * *

Rabbit's Foot

- If you use this to draw a card with the same triggering condition (e.g. "Look what I found!"), you can play that card during the same reaction window.

* * * * *

Stray Cat

- You can use Stray Cat to evade an enemy that you’re not engaged with.

* * * * *

Cunning Distraction


- This effect will evade and exhaust all enemies in your location, even those that you’re not engaged with (Aloof, and those engaged with other players).

* * * * *

Lucky!

- The "When you would fail a skill test" triggering condition comes before the "After you fail a skill test" triggering condition, so you cannot play Lucky! after you use Rabbit’s Foot or play "Look what I found!".

* * * * *

Flashlight

- If you reduce shroud to 0, investigating this location will always be successful, because even if you reveal a -8 token, negative values are treated as 0, so you skill test result will match the test difficulty of 0 (you can still fail if you reveal an Auto-Fail token).

* * * * *

Guts / Perception / Overpower / Manual Dexterity

- "Max 1 per skill test" across all players.

- If you commit this card to another player's skill test, and the test is successful, you draw a card (not the other player).

* * * * *

Amnesia

- If you have any Weakness cards in hand (e.g. Dark Memory), you must choose and discard all other cards, and keep all Weaknesses.

* * * * *

Paranoia

- During the Upkeep phase, you draw a card first, then gain a resource. So if you draw Paranoia, you immediately discard all resources, then gain 1.

* * * * *

Stubborn Detective

- His static ability affects each investigator in his location (not just the bearer).

- Roland’s ability can be used as normal after you defeat this enemy.

* * * * *

!!! SPOILERS AHEAD !!!

* * * * *

They're Getting Out!

- The first Forced ability will move exhausted (evaded) enemies.

- "At the end of the round" effects trigger after "When the round ends" effects (e.g. The Barrier).

* * * * *

What Have You Done?

- You can use "After you defeat an enemy" Reactions and Fast actions (e.g. Roland Banks, Evidence!) before the “If...” Objective triggers.

* * * * *

Lita Chantler

- If Lita is defeated while a player controls her temporarily during "The Gathering" scenario (i.e. while she is technically not a part of that player's deck), remove her from the game (do not place her into any discard pile). This does not affect possible scenario resolutions.

* * * * *

Flesh-Eater / Icy Ghoul

- If an enemy should spawn at a location that is not currently in play (i.e. while you're at the Study), place that enemy card into the encounter discard pile without any further effects.

* * * * *

Arkham Woods: Twisting Paths

- This effect can cancel a normal Move action, as well as any card effect that would move an investigator.

* * * * *

Frozen in Fear

- Also applies to using card abilities with action designators (Move, Fight, Evade).

* * * * *

Hunting Nightgaunt

- The ability works with special tokens that reference the scenario card.

- The ability ceases to apply if you play Sure Gamble).

* * * * *

Yithian Observer

- If you play a card while engaged with Yithian Observer, it will make an attack of opportunity against you and resolve its Forced ability, after you pay the cost of the card but before you resolve its effects or put it into play. If the ability makes you discard that card at random, you’ll end up having wasted resources without gaining anything in return.
10 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Shame the link is broken...

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Guys, you can find all these rules entries (and more!) on ArkhamDB.com, on individual card pages. Please use the DB, i'm updating it on a regular basis, but not the FAQ compilation.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
mplain wrote:
Guys, you can find all these rules entries (and more!) on ArkhamDB.com, on individual card pages. Please use the DB, i'm updating it on a regular basis, but not the FAQ compilation.

I love ArkhamDB!

Just wish the card sorting in the deck listings were better.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
I love ArkhamDB!

Just wish the card sorting in the deck listings were better.

What exactly do you mean? What could be made better?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mplain wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
I love ArkhamDB!

Just wish the card sorting in the deck listings were better.

What exactly do you mean? What could be made better?


https://github.com/Kamalisk/arkhamdb/issues/15

(if anyone else has comments/ideas, they should be put there)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gilbert
Canada
Val-d'Or
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just start to play and I cant find the answer to that, so I used the grim rule.

If a monster is a hunter, and move/engage my investigator, does he attack on that turn too? In other word: does moving or engaging exhaust a enemy?

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gilbert
Canada
Val-d'Or
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just start to play and I cant find the answer to that, so I used the grim rule.

If a monster is a hunter, and move/engage my investigator, does he attack on that turn too? In other word: does moving or engaging exhaust a enemy?

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
carnodingo wrote:
I just start to play and I cant find the answer to that, so I used the grim rule.

If a monster is a hunter, and move/engage my investigator, does he attack on that turn too? In other word: does moving or engaging exhaust a enemy?

Thank you.


Neither Moving nor Engaging Exhausts enemies. After all Hunters Move (and Engage, if there is an Investigator at their new location) every Ready, Engaged Enemy will Attack. It is possible to Evade a Hunter during the Investigator Phase, in which case it will Move (Edit: No it won't, it must be Ready in order to Move), but (Edit: and) will not Engage or Attack. It will then Engage (but not Attack) during the Upkeep Phase, once it becomes Ready.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gilbert
Canada
Val-d'Or
Québec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I did it right. Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
mplain wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
I love ArkhamDB!

Just wish the card sorting in the deck listings were better.

What exactly do you mean? What could be made better?

Ideally there would be a user setting, or settings, to control the order the cards are listed in a published or saved deck listing.

I have my player cards in a binder, sorted by set number, but whilst the deck listings are grouped by type, there is no apparent ordering to the cards within those groupings.

So, in order to reconstruct a deck from the listings I either have to go through the binder one card at time, within the relevant classes, checking "is this card in the deck? ... Is this one? ..." and so on, or go through the listing a line at a time, jumping back and forth in the binder, trying to remember where each card is.

If I could get the listing sorted by set number, or alphabetically, grouped by class, and type, or anything logical really, it would save so much time.

And it's only going to get worse when the expansions arrive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Siegfried
Japan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
Neither Moving nor Engaging Exhausts enemies. After all Hunters Move (and Engage, if there is an Investigator at their new location) every Ready, Engaged Enemy will Attack. It is possible to Evade a Hunter during the Investigator Phase, in which case it will Move, but will not Engage or Attack. It will then Engage (but not Attack) during the Upkeep Phase, once it becomes Ready.


I could be mistaken, but I'm pretty sure an enemy that was evaded (and thusly exhausted) would NOT move during the enemy phase. Pretty sure only ready enemies with hunter move, then (possibly) engage and attack in the enemy phase.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Butaman551 wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Neither Moving nor Engaging Exhausts enemies. After all Hunters Move (and Engage, if there is an Investigator at their new location) every Ready, Engaged Enemy will Attack. It is possible to Evade a Hunter during the Investigator Phase, in which case it will Move, but will not Engage or Attack. It will then Engage (but not Attack) during the Upkeep Phase, once it becomes Ready.


I could be mistaken, but I'm pretty sure an enemy that was evaded (and thusly exhausted) would NOT move during the enemy phase. Pretty sure only ready enemies with hunter move, then (possibly) engage and attack in the enemy phase.


You're right, a Hunter must be Ready to Move. I was thinking of a different question about forced movement of Enemies in which it was agreed that Exhaust does not prevent all Enemy Movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
Butaman551 wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Neither Moving nor Engaging Exhausts enemies. After all Hunters Move (and Engage, if there is an Investigator at their new location) every Ready, Engaged Enemy will Attack. It is possible to Evade a Hunter during the Investigator Phase, in which case it will Move, but will not Engage or Attack. It will then Engage (but not Attack) during the Upkeep Phase, once it becomes Ready.


I could be mistaken, but I'm pretty sure an enemy that was evaded (and thusly exhausted) would NOT move during the enemy phase. Pretty sure only ready enemies with hunter move, then (possibly) engage and attack in the enemy phase.


You're right, a Hunter must be Ready to Move. I was thinking of a different question about forced movement of Enemies in which it was agreed that Exhaust does not prevent all Enemy Movement.

I've seen this referred to a couple of times now, but not seen the original question/discussion.

Could you elucidate? When and how would an exhausted unengaged enemy move? And what would force it to do so?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Butaman551 wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Neither Moving nor Engaging Exhausts enemies. After all Hunters Move (and Engage, if there is an Investigator at their new location) every Ready, Engaged Enemy will Attack. It is possible to Evade a Hunter during the Investigator Phase, in which case it will Move, but will not Engage or Attack. It will then Engage (but not Attack) during the Upkeep Phase, once it becomes Ready.


I could be mistaken, but I'm pretty sure an enemy that was evaded (and thusly exhausted) would NOT move during the enemy phase. Pretty sure only ready enemies with hunter move, then (possibly) engage and attack in the enemy phase.


You're right, a Hunter must be Ready to Move. I was thinking of a different question about forced movement of Enemies in which it was agreed that Exhaust does not prevent all Enemy Movement.

I've seen this referred to a couple of times now, but not seen the original question/discussion.

Could you elucidate? When and how would an exhausted unengaged enemy move? And what would force it to do so?


Agendas, mostly.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Agenda 3a of The Gathering, for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Butaman551 wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Neither Moving nor Engaging Exhausts enemies. After all Hunters Move (and Engage, if there is an Investigator at their new location) every Ready, Engaged Enemy will Attack. It is possible to Evade a Hunter during the Investigator Phase, in which case it will Move, but will not Engage or Attack. It will then Engage (but not Attack) during the Upkeep Phase, once it becomes Ready.


I could be mistaken, but I'm pretty sure an enemy that was evaded (and thusly exhausted) would NOT move during the enemy phase. Pretty sure only ready enemies with hunter move, then (possibly) engage and attack in the enemy phase.


You're right, a Hunter must be Ready to Move. I was thinking of a different question about forced movement of Enemies in which it was agreed that Exhaust does not prevent all Enemy Movement.

I've seen this referred to a couple of times now, but not seen the original question/discussion.

Could you elucidate? When and how would an exhausted unengaged enemy move? And what would force it to do so?


Agendas, mostly.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Agenda 3a of The Gathering, for example.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
So, even exhausted Ghouls move towards the Parlor?!


Where was this discussed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.