$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Variants

Subject: The Planeswalkers (Add on) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan Sharvo
msg tools
The Planeswalkers

Inspired by MTG

This is an Add-On to the game that I posted at least 6 months ago. Since then the rules have been adjusted and the Planeswalkers balanced (in our opinion!). Most importantly, they have stood the test of time; We greatly enjoyed them when they were first invented, and still enjoy them greatly. We do not play without them any more..

Below is a printable PDF, and a PP document so you can edit them if you see fit, or even have new ideas you wish to implement!

The Planeswalkers PDF: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_HVRxtusLCYcWphaXdza3c2NXc...

The Planeswalkers PP: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_HVRxtusLCYMElmWnJUdWJ3UFE...

Rules

Pre-Game

Before starting the game, and just after everyone chooses their 2 factions, each player is dealt 2 Planeswalker minions at random, and they are dealt face down (That is, no one else can see which 2 you have received). You then decide which one you would like to keep for the game, and then discard the other.

The Planeswalker minion of your choice is then placed in front of your deck face down. That's right, it does not go into your hand, nor is it shuffled into your deck, nor is it revealed for everyone else to see. And, it will remain face down in front of your deck until the turn you decide to play it. There have been games where a player has even chosen not to play theirs


In Game

On any one of your turns, you may choose to play your Planeswalker. But know first, it counts as playing your minion for the turn. The only exception is if your Planeswalker minion has a green arrow on it; that Planeswalker has "Haste" and can be played as "an extra minion" (6 of 22 Planeswalkers have "Haste"). Can you play a Planeswalker without a green arrow as an extra minion with a card like Summon or Insta-Grow? Absolutely!

Now, to play your Planeswalker you simply turn it face up and leave it in front of your deck. It does not go on a base. Consequently, its power does not add to the breakpoint of a base. It will remain in front of your deck the entire game unless it is destroyed (more on that later below).

Each Planeswalker has a Power Number, just like every other minion in Smash Up, but with a + sign next to it. What that means is this: Your Planeswalker comes into play with X +1 counters, where X is equal to its Power Number. So, for example, if my minion has +4, then it comes into play with four +1 counters. You will then use these counters for activating your Planeswalker's abilities.

Abilities

The majority of Planeswalkers have 3 abilities. You may use only one ability each turn. The ability is equivalent to a Talent. Each ability is preceded by a + sign OR -1 sign. This tells you how much the ability "costs" to use. Therefore, to use an ability add or subtract X amount of +1 counters from your Planeswalker

The Death of a Planeswalker

A Planeswalker cannot be targeted by other cards. It is immune unless there is a special ability (see for example the Planeswalker: Scalpelexis). But a Planeswalker can die. How? If your Planeswalker runs out of +1 counters - there are no +1 counters left on it - it is destroyed and put in your discard pile to be shuffled later into your deck. This is the only way a Planeswalker can be destroyed. Sound imbalanced? It's not. . (Originally, the rule was that a Planeswalker COULD be targeted by other cards) Now, when/if it becomes time to shuffle your discard pile into your deck and your Planeswalker is in your discard pile, you simply shuffle it into your deck just like any other card. Later, when/if you draw it, you play it from your hand just like any other minion (except, of course, it is played face up in front of your deck instead of on a base!).

Further Questions

Any questions regarding the specifics of a Planeswalker, or some rule I may have missed, just ask and I'll respond within time. At this moment, I will explain one Planeswalker that cannot be understood by the conventional Smash Up rules.

Tarmogoyf (Yea, its not the correct MTG art for the name, sorry MTG fan boys). His first ability reads: +1: Add a +1 counter to a base.

Adding a +1 counter to a base is not the same as adding +1 power to your total power there, but rather +1 power to the base itself. So, for example, you add a +1 counter to "The Jungle." The breakpoint of The Jungle, then, rises from 12 to 13! Thus, adding +1 counters to bases increases the amount of total power it takes to break them. Add four +1 counters over four turns onto The Jungle, and the breakpoint will become 16. This tactic is used to stall until you yourself can amass more power than others there, slow down other players from scoring on a base you aren't trying to win, etc.

Conclusion

The Planeswalkers are made to be strong, but not so strong that they can carry you to a win or land a decisive blow (like the Pirates "Full Sail" for example). We wanted the emphasis to remain on the regular faction cards, while adding a layer of complexity and spice to those familiar enough with the game. Almost always we talk about the imbalance of a faction card, not a Planeswalker or its ability. But, of course, there will be situations when a Planeswalker's ability, or when a player does a fine job of managing his Planeswalker throughout the game, will be decisive, just not often enough to take away from the strength of the "pure game."

Thanks, and for anyone who tries them send some feedback on your experience! Hopefully, the vast majority of the kinks are worked out and you simply have a good time.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.