Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cultists in Scenario 2 (minor spoilers) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
In Scenario 2, you are tasked with interrogating cultists in Arkham. Each has a "parlay" ability to add them to the victory display. Rather than parlay, can you also fight/defeat them to add them to the display? I can see this being ruled both ways.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
You're correct in assuming both options are valid ways to move the card into that area.

Rules Ref, p21
Spoiler (click to reveal)
As a victory point enemy is defeated, place the card in
the victory display instead of in the discard pile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
Australia
flag msg tools
mb
Yes. Works thematically too in that you're either beating the information out of them or appeasing them in other ways for them to divulge the info
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Twitch_City wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
In Scenario 2, you are tasked with interrogating cultists in Arkham. Each has a "parlay" ability to add them to the victory display. Rather than parlay, can you also fight/defeat them to add them to the display? I can see this being ruled both ways.


Don't forget they are enemies, so that if they spawn in a space that an investigator is also present the cultist will engage that investigator and attack/attack of opportunity. Further, when you enter the cultist space they will engage you (if not engaged with another investigator).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HAaha, yup, we did almost forget that they were enemies - but remembered as soon as it had an impact:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
I was very low on health and so moved to the hospital, forgetting that the Nurse was revealed but unengaged there and was an enemy. Ended up getting healed, but she caused some pain in the process!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob s
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for this post. I came here looking for help with the exact same issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gonzalo Herreros
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about the 6th one which starts in the encounters deck?
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Wizard of the order

He doesn't have victory points or the Parley option, is this an errata or I am missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Whitford
msg tools
mbmbmb
gherreros wrote:
What about the 6th one which starts in the encounters deck?
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Wizard of the order

He doesn't have victory points or the Parley option, is this an errata or I am missing something?

He is not a unique cultist and is not the 6th one.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The 6th unique cultist is The Masked Hunter on the back of Agenda 1.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gonzalo Herreros
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I didn't notice that he didn't have an asterisc in the name. Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.