$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Welcome to the Dungeon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Still confused about Vorpal Axe rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Russell Terrier

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
mb
Hi all,
After reading this thread https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1355173/vorpal-axe-barb... regarding the Vorpal Axe, I am still a bit confused. When do you have to use this card? We played this as you have to decide what type of monsters you want the axe to kill after revealing the very FIRST monster card in the deck of monster cards in the dungeon. However, after thinking about it some more, it feels like the card can be played to kill any type of monster of your choice at ANY time of your choosing and not necessarily has to be the first card. For example, you flip over the very first card and it's a 3 (Orc card), which your torch can take care of, so you flip over a second card and now it's a 7 (demon card), you can now decide to use the Axe to kill this card or you can save it for later as well in anticipation of a 9 (dragon card). Which way is correct? Any comments or clarification are greatly appreciated. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Nguyen
msg tools
mbmb
When you see the card you want to kill you can then choose to use it. So your realization is correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Terrier

Seattle
Washington
msg tools
mb
Ah I see, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Bowles
United States
Depauw
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I read the rules you have to "call your monster" before the first monster is reveled. Like you know that a dragon went into the dungeon and someone just removed the Dragon spear you could say the vorpal axe kills dragons. Then when the dragon card is revealed he is killed just like if you had the spear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Merritt
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
shadowsclassic wrote:
The way I read the rules you have to "call your monster" before the first monster is reveled. Like you know that a dragon went into the dungeon and someone just removed the Dragon spear you could say the vorpal axe kills dragons. Then when the dragon card is revealed he is killed just like if you had the spear.


You are thinking of the Vorpal Sword, which you do have to declare a type of monster before entering the dungeon and the sword will defeat those monsters.

The Vorpal Axe, on the other hand, states to defeat a monster AFTER you draw it, so you can choose when to use it while going through the dungeon.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Harrison
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mb
The rules state that you only take damage if you do not have any equipment that would defeat the monster. If you are able to defeat a monster with an equipment tile,you are obligated to do so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Nguyen
msg tools
mbmb
It doesn't say you're obligated to use the equipment tile. The rule is there just to say you take damage if you don't have a specific equipment to defeat the monster.

The Vorpal Axe is a special equipment that lets you decide when you want to use it. Otherwise it would just say "defeat the first monster in the dungeon."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.