$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: cannot draw cards question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dr oosp
msg tools
mbmbmb
So a misunderstanding on a card effect that says active hero cannot draw cards ..dies thus mean the active hero cannot purchase new cards or simply cannot draw a card if one if his hand card says to?
Sorry if this has been asked already
Thank you fellow wizards and witches
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Without having played the game I'd say that DRAWING cards is differntly definied as PURCHASING cards. One allows you to take a card from your draw pile, the other one moves the purchased card to the discard pile. So, yes you can still purchase cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Szerlong MIB#0786
United States
Normal
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
having run the demo for 5 hours yesterday, and playing to game 5 so far. drawing cards means from your deck. like if you have a card that says "draw a card, you can't this turn from your deck. usually no one can either the cards say "no heroes can draw extra cards"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Wolf
United States
Carlsbad
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
droosp wrote:
So a misunderstanding on a card effect that says active hero cannot draw cards ..dies thus mean the active hero cannot purchase new cards or simply cannot draw a card if one if his hand card says to?
Sorry if this has been asked already
Thank you fellow wizards and witches


The effect means the second option you listed: You cannot draw cards from your deck if a card effect in your hand says to. You can still acquire new cards, which go into your discard pile.

Andrew Wolf
Game Designer - USAopoly
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Fletcher
msg tools
mbmbmb
Ukeeku wrote:
...if you have a card that says "draw a card, you can't this turn from your deck. usually no one can either the cards say "no heroes can draw extra cards"


^Pretty much this.

The “can’t draw extra cards” clause applies to cards that would be drawn as the result of a card effect and/or a villain reward. This includes cards that would be drawn because another player played a card that told you to draw a card.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
This also includes cards that would be drawn as the result of the “card” icon coming up on a die roll, and cards that would be drawn through the activation or triggering of a proficiency.


The active player still draws a new hand of cards at the end of the turn, since these are not “extra” cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.