$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Project: ELITE» Forums » Rules

Subject: Alien Ability Range rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shane
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all!

Per the rules, Weapons with a range of 4+ must always shoot in a straight line.

However, I cannot find any reference to Alien Abilities that have a range of 4+. Are these, too, limited to targeting Characters in a straight line, or do they count a path of squares orthogonally and diagonally in any path that can reach a Character?

Looking for an official ruling or rule citation, not "how I played it".

Thanks in advance for any answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Kokkinis
Greece
Athens
Attica
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.artipiagames.com
badge
The Pursuit of Happiness expansion > Now on Kickstarter!
mbmbmbmbmb
CoffeeGnerd wrote:
Hi all!

Per the rules, Weapons with a range of 4+ must always shoot in a straight line.

However, I cannot find any reference to Alien Abilities that have a range of 4+. Are these, too, limited to targeting Characters in a straight line, or do they count a path of squares orthogonally and diagonally in any path that can reach a Character?

Looking for an official ruling or rule citation, not "how I played it".

Thanks in advance for any answers!


Dear Shane,

I believe you were somehow confused. The 4+ in some Alien's abilities (such as Shooter Soldiers) refers to the roll result. For each Character within range (their range is 3) you roll a Hit die and on a 4 or higher, that Character loses 1 life.

At the time being there are no Aliens with a range greater than 3.

I hope this helps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Konstantinos!

Acidox, a Boss alien, "Hits each Character within range 4 twice".

Maybe he's the only example of this or it's a misprint?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantinos Kokkinis
Greece
Athens
Attica
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.artipiagames.com
badge
The Pursuit of Happiness expansion > Now on Kickstarter!
mbmbmbmbmb
CoffeeGnerd wrote:
Hi Konstantinos!

Acidox, a Boss alien, "Hits each Character within range 4 twice".

Maybe he's the only example of this or it's a misprint?


Nope (not a misprint). You are absolutely right. I totally forgot about Acidox modest

Well, you should resolve Acidox's weapon in the same way as any weapon with a range 4 or higher --> shoots in a straight line.

However, if an ability states that no line of sight is required, then everything within range 4 is affected.

Thank you and apologies for the confusion.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much Konstantinos!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.