$5.00
$30.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: Alien Artifacts» Forums » Rules

Subject: Explore bonus when only explore orb is chosen rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kelly
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We're experienced RFTG players, but we're just trying Alien Artifacts for the first time. We have a 2 player game in which one player has a starting world with the explore phase bonus of draw an extra and keep an extra card (Alien Artifact Hunters). Explore: Orb was selected this phase, but none of the other Explore cards were chosen. In this scenario, how does the explore bonus on the player's start world work? Would he draw one and keep one? Or does it not apply because neither of the Explore phases that involve drawing cards were played?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Suita
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
mbmbmbmbmb
Explore phase happens as usual - everyone draws 2, keeps 1, and bonuses in your tableau are applied.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
*All* Explore phases involve a base action of draw 2 cards, keep 1 card, as stated in the rules and shown in the upper right corner of the Explore: Orb action card.

Compare it to the Explore: +5 action card. That has the same draw 2, keep 1 icon, with an extra +5 in red showing the bonus draws when playing the +5 version of Explore.

Everyone does the Orb step (with the player playing the card getting a bonus), then does the normal Explore action, applying all Explore powers of cards in tableau.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response! We noticed the icon in the upper right of the Explore: Orb card after my post

Really enjoyed it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.