Subject: Chess960: First Imprssions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Pugh
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mb
I learned of this chess variant years ago but the other day I finally gave it a try. For those unfamiliar with this chess variant I suggest reading the Wikipedia entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chess_960

First, a little about myself and my opponent. I am an enthusiastic but mediocre amateur chess player. I have no official rating but if I were to estimate my rating I imagine it would be somewhere in the neighborhood of 1400 or 1600 based on my experience with the 10th Ed. Chess Master software. My opponent was a casual acquaintance who knew how to play chess but had clearly never studied the game seriously. He was at a loss as to what to do during the opening so I proposed that we try chess960; that way we would at least be in the same boat.

Our game was quick, casual and untimed but nevertheless lively. The randomized setup resulted in positions that analytically challenging. I highly engaged though I do not believe we were any more evenly matched than we would have been in a standard game of chess.

In chess960 it would seem that one is completely unable to rely on prior knowledge of opening lines. However, from my one experience it appeared to me that knowledge of the principles which underlie hypermodern chess openings would be invaluable to a player of chess960.

I would highly recommend this chess variant to anyone who would be interested in playing chess occasionally but is not interested in studying openings extensively. I would also recommend this variant to amateur chess players who are not particularly well versed in opening lines but are interested in casual play.

For the moment, chess960 is a game that has peaked my interest. I encourage anyone who knows how to play chess to try chess960; I found the experience very rewarding.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul McKinney
United States
Houston