$20.00
$60.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you split damage and horror? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph West
United States
Franklin
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Example:

I have Guard Dog in play (3 health / 1 sanity), which I would really like to keep around. An enemy does 1 damage and 1 horror. Can I assign the damage to guard dog and the horror to myself?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Most definitely.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Philippe Thériault
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pretty sure if they deal 2 damage you can split that damage 1/1 as well (in order to benefit from the dog 3 times rather than once or twice).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew McFarland
United States
Floresville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
XDarkAngelX wrote:
Pretty sure if they deal 2 damage you can split that damage 1/1 as well (in order to benefit from the dog 3 times rather than once or twice).


Damage is assigned applied simultaneously, so that wouldn't work.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathias Heilmann
Germany
Essen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Eyefink wrote:
XDarkAngelX wrote:
Pretty sure if they deal 2 damage you can split that damage 1/1 as well (in order to benefit from the dog 3 times rather than once or twice).


Damage is assigned simultaneously, so that wouldn't work.

It wouldn't? I've been playing it like that as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
That would work. If you are dealt 2 damage and 2 horror, you can split it all however you like.

Quote:
Asset Cards
- Some assets have health and/or sanity. When an investigator is dealt damage or horror, that investigator may assign some or all of that damage or horror to eligible asset cards he or she controls (see "Dealing Damage/Horror" on page 7).
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Broom
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Damage is not Assigned simultaneously, it is Applied simultaneously

So as the rule above says, you can Assign at your leisure - then the next step would be for all Assigned damage to be Applied at the same time

The only check is that you Assigned all damage that was Dealt by the attack

- Damage is Dealt
- Dealt damage is Assigned
- Assigned damage is Applied

Simple enough, right?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew McFarland
United States
Floresville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, I meant to type applied. Regardless, Guard Dog triggers on being dealt damage, which encompasses both steps (assign/apply).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Bialecki
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Timbar wrote:

- Damage is Dealt
- Dealt damage is Assigned
- Assigned damage is Applied


I like that! With an action window between each, it can apply to a whole range of LCG/TCGs. If I remember correctly, it applies verbatim to Phoenixborn for example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Scutt
United Kingdom
Matlock
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Eyefink wrote:
XDarkAngelX wrote:
Pretty sure if they deal 2 damage you can split that damage 1/1 as well (in order to benefit from the dog 3 times rather than once or twice).


Damage is assigned applied simultaneously, so that wouldn't work.

I'm pretty sure that xDarkAngelx meant that the damage would be split 1 to you and 1 to the dog (so that you can do this trick 3 times)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew McFarland
United States
Floresville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That makes way more sense! Apologies.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Broom
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mbialeck wrote:
Timbar wrote:

- Damage is Dealt
- Dealt damage is Assigned
- Assigned damage is Applied


I like that! With an action window between each, it can apply to a whole range of LCG/TCGs. If I remember correctly, it applies verbatim to Phoenixborn for example.


The problem with allowing a player action window between these steps in a TCG is this : you could have a damage source Deal damage, your opponent Assign that damage to their game elements, then before damage is Applied, your opponent could do something sacrificial with the game elements taking the Assigned damage before it gets Applied - and get the sacrificial benefit, with the Assigned damage just... disappearing

Anyone who remembers 'After damage is on the stack...' from Magic:The Gathering might know what I'm talking about
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
Looking on page 23 of the rules reference the only player windows are before combat starts and after it ends.

Players can’t choose to initiate actions during the steps of combat and damage.

Although “When” actions may trigger automatically.

Phoenix
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Broom
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Mike was talking in general design terms, not about AH:LCG
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.