$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Evolution: Flight» Forums » Rules

Subject: When does extinction happen? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Parker
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When playing Flight this weekend, a scenario played out and I couldn't figure if we played it correctly or not. I did flip through the rulebook and might've missed it.

A player had a creature with Flight, Carnivore and Intelligence. During the feeding phase, he had one card left in his hand. When it came time for him to feed this species, the only target available to him was another species he had. We had to discard the card from his hand in order to overcome his other species' defense, but it worked out. No problems so far.

However, in attacking his other species he caused it to become extinct. That species had three trait cards so he would get three new cards from the draw pile because of the extinction. But does this happen immediately?

The disagreement was that if he gets those three new cards immediately that his intelligent carnivore now has the cards to continue overcoming other species' defenses and continue feeding. If he doesn't get those cards until the end of the phase/round then he couldn't attack anyone else that round (or actually ever because he would starve himself into extinction having only fed his body size).

So, when does the extinction happen? Or, more directly, when do you get the new cards to replace extinct species' traits?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Goldman
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Extinction via carnivore or horns happens immediately, and cards drawn from lost traits happen right away and can be used for intelligence right away.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Parker
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, great. That's how we ended up playing it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.