Bernhard Vierthaler wrote:
Are playing our first game. A question came up:
Crime Horde is a Conspiracy, but its agent is a cube. Does this mean, that the agent cube does not attack but may be placed after the Conspiracy? So in case the Conspiracy is successful I can place to pawns (one for the agent and one for the Regime Change)?
The Rules in the Conspiracy Section (J1)and the Last Page are contradictory.
J1: Conspiracy Attackers. Place all of the Agents of the acting Card next to the Map Card specified.
Last Page, Conspiracy: Number of Agent icons on card, attack (if knights or rooks).
So what is true?
I changed J1 (Conspiracy) to say: Conspiracy Attackers. Place all of the knight or rook Agents of the acting Card next to the Map Card specified.
Therefore, the pawn would not attack, and you would be able to place two pawns if the conspiracy is successful.
I intended that pawns fight only in peasant revolts, and bishops never fight on the map at all. This ruling applies to a card such as "House of Borgia", which can launch a conspiracy yet the Agent is a bishop.
Historically it is very common that a conniving noble, bishop, or merchant calls upon a nearby superpower to intervene to his advantage. Heck, the entire game of Pax Pamir is just this manipulative mechanic.
In this particular bit of history (the Crim Horde card), it did not go as planned for the conniving Genoese merchant Squarciafico. The Khan of the Krim Horde (who jointly ruled the slave port of Kaffa with Genoa) had died, and his sons bickered on who would be the next Khan. Squarciafico asked the Ottoman sultan to settle the dispute by installing by force Squarciafico's favored candidate. He offered to act as the sea consul with favorable terms for the Ottomans. The Ottomans marched in crushed the Khanate, enslaved all the Genoese, and took over the profitable slave trade. Squarciafico was called to Constantinople, where the sultan thanked him for providing the Casus Belli, and then beheaded him for his treachery.