$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
$20.00
Jeremy Gutjahr
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is this possible to do the following sequence?
Prerequisites:
By any means necessary agenda card (1 influence)
Fail safe ( tech superiority 2 xp)
Experimental arms (tech superiority 0 xp)

1) Attack

2) Use agenda card "by any means necessary" to attack again and then suffer 4 damage (to defeat yourself)

3) Use parting shot before being defeated.
3b) use fail safe to move and regain 1 hp.
3c) experimental arms will blow you up

4) use parting shot again

If in not mistaken, in addition, you could use experimental arms each time for a bonus surge correct?
Ps. With adaptive weapons they could roll a red each time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The errata on Parting Shot prevents the failsafe. It says 'Then you are defeated '. Defeated is a state that is independent of damage. So as the skill states that you are defeated, your hp don't matter.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Gutjahr
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't necessarily say it prevents fail safe. That is written so that people can't use the imperial industry card to heal damage before being defeated. Failsafe occurs before being defeated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the errata is for the Imperial Industry. Note that Final Blast and Imperial Industry combo is still possible.

Failsafe and Parting Shot happen with the same timing, before the figure is defeated.

Because they have the same timing, you can choose which one to resolve first, the return to the trigger.

1) You resolve Failsafe first. When you have resolved it, the figure no longer has suffered damage upto its Health, thus Parting Shot does not trigger.

2) You resolve Parting Shot first. When you have resolved it, the figure has been defeated (as per the errata), removed from the map, and Failsafe does not have a figure to trigger on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Gutjahr
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok so I suppose you can still attack three times, each with a bonus surge. Not bad. Thanks for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rico P
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I believe there was an errata on the hired guns. iirc this "invincible rodians" discussion came up before. See the latest FAQ on page 7:

Hired Guns
The “Parting Shot” ability should read:
“When you have suffered H equal to your Health, before you are
defeated, you may interrupt to perform an attack. Then, you are
defeated."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
A Parting Shot of a Hired Gun is a bit lackluster to waste By Any Means Necessary on. Boba Fett, on the other hand... I have used that with him, and then used his Recover mb to remove some of the suffering. Greedo would be good enough too.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.