GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,455 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Apocalypse Chaos» Forums » Rules

Subject: Room activation and Engine room star dice. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Olson
United States
Edina
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I've been playing this the last couple of weeks and have really been enjoying it.

A lot of the questions I've had are already answered in the forum, but I have two that I'm not sure has been answered.

1. Can I use two dice to activate a room?

As like I'm in the Displacement Chamber and require a melee die to activate the jump.

I don't have an available melee die, but I have two range dice. For room activation, can I combine them to make it into the required melee die?


2. Hero Green is in the Engine room but doesn't roll a star die.

Hero Blue isn't in the Engine room but has rolled a star die.

Can Blue give Green the star die and Green can use that to activate the Engine room?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
You may call me
Canada
Burlington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm inclined to answer yes to both of them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Arnold
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good questions but I would say there's no question the answer is yes. The rules say you can combine any pair to be any other symbol. So you would put the two range die, change the top one to a melee die and put it in your room activation reserve. And for the second, yes of course, why wouldn't you? You trade the dice you want and then place them. So Blue gives Green the Star die and Green puts it in the Room Activation Reserve.

For both these cases, then you put them on the correct room activation spot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Olson
United States
Edina
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the responses.

Yeah, I couldn't think or a reason why not, I just wanted to make sure I'm not gaming the system.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Arnold
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the key is that even for Room Activations, the dice start on the player mat in the special spot, so they're the same as any other dice set up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just be careful, you can't activate all 4 dice in the engine room in 1 round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dlikos wrote:
Just be careful, you can't activate all 4 dice in the engine room in 1 round.


Yes, but are two dice used to be 1 other die considered to be 1 die or 2 dice for that purpose? It could be argued either way. After all, you're using 2 dice AS 1 other type of die. The question is whether it's thus considered to be 2 dice or the 1 die you are turning the two dice into?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Arnold
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can turn any matching 2 dice into a single icon (die) of any other type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jdarnold wrote:
You can turn any matching 2 dice into a single icon (die) of any other type.


Isn't that what I said? The issue is whether once you do use 2 dice as 1 single die of another face it is considered to be 1 or 2 die for the purpose of the limit on room activation.

Hasn't come up in my game so far because I TOTALLY forgot I could do that. But then I had so many other rules wrong it hardly mattered. I'm just trying to get a better handle on the rules issues before I play again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julien Regnard
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
From the rules it looks like 2 identical dice are used as one die when combined to obtain another side.
I pile up both dice, so they take the same room as one die on the character sheet and they count as 1 room activation in the limit of 3 per round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.