$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Explore a location with no clues on it rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francois-Xavier Bocquet
United Kingdom
Exeter
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If I have been hit by a cover up card, can I explore a location which has no clues on it to get rid of the tokens on cover up? Currently in the hallway and that looks like an attractive proposition as the shroud value is only one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
While you can certainly investigate a location with no clues on it (for instance, to use a Burglarly), please note that Roland's Cover Up requires him to substitute finding a clue on his location with a clue on Cover Up. So trying to solve the Cover Up won't work unless there's a clue on your location, sorry.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francois-Xavier Bocquet
United Kingdom
Exeter
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought it was too easy. Nice to know about the burglary tactic though

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dee
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mb
No, because the card text specifies 'when you would gain a clue at your location'. You need to be at a location where discovering a clue is currently possible. Leaving one clue in reserve on an easy-ish location is a valid strategy if you're worried about drawing into Cover Up, as you can then theoretically camp that location, handle your sly business, then grab the last clue for Act purposes.

You can compare the 'when' qualifier on Cover Up with something like Burglary. Clues are not required to be present on a location in order to use Burglary because it is worded 'instead of gaining a clue'.

edit: not fast enough!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julius Besser
United States
Memphis
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is only one clue at a location, can you use an ability to let you discover multiple clues at once to remove multiple clue tokens from Cover Up? (The card does say "when you would discover 1 or more clues from a location, discard that many clues from cover up instead." So, here, even though you had the ability to discover 2 clues at the location, the location only has 1 clue available, so you would have only discovered one clue, so you should only be able to discard 1 clue from cover up.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
jayelbird wrote:
If there is only one clue at a location, can you use an ability to let you discover multiple clues at once to remove multiple clue tokens from Cover Up? (The card does say "when you would discover 1 or more clues from a location, discard that many clues from cover up instead." So, here, even though you had the ability to discover 2 clues at the location, the location only has 1 clue available, so you would have only discovered one clue, so you should only be able to discard 1 clue from cover up.)


Correct. At this point in the game, investigators have no way of generating additional clues beyond picking the clues up off the ground at a location. Perhaps future cards will let them (they'd have to be hella tough to use, given how the clue economy works in the game).

If Roland would discover multiple clues and his Cover Up is out, but there's only 1 clue at the location, all he can get is one clue...which means all he could pay off is 1 clue from Cover Up if he wants. Sad Roland.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.