Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bloodburn and land octopus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
To clarify the wording in the abilities:

http://codexcarddb.com/card/bloodburn
Whenever a unit dies, put a blood rune on this (limit: 4).
⤵, remove two blood runes → Deal 1 damage to a unit or building

* since it didn't specify who controls the units, if my unit and opponent unit kill each other in combat, 2 runes will be placed on the upgrade.


http://codexcarddb.com/card/land_octopus
Overpower (Excess combat damage this would deal to a patroller hits something else this could attack.)
Upkeep: Sacrifice two workers or Land Octopus.
Can't patrol.

*It does not specify whose worker to trash. However, the word "sacrifice" in this game means "your". So you cant trash you opponent workers. You must trash 2 of your own workers or sacrifice your octopus.



Finally
Merfolk (1/1) with midori's second band ability means he is actually 2/2 but we dont put +1 rune on him since midori's ability doesnt mention "rune"
If this buffed merfolk have 1 damage on him he doesnt die. But if midori is killed, merfolk would lose the buff and die immediately.



I think I got these right this time ?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fanjoy
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MVashM wrote:
To clarify the wording in the abilities:

http://codexcarddb.com/card/bloodburn
Whenever a unit dies, put a blood rune on this (limit: 4).
⤵, remove two blood runes → Deal 1 damage to a unit or building

* since it didn't specify who controls the units, if my unit and opponent unit kill each other in combat, 2 runes will be placed on the upgrade.


http://codexcarddb.com/card/land_octopus
Overpower (Excess combat damage this would deal to a patroller hits something else this could attack.)
Upkeep: Sacrifice two workers or Land Octopus.
Can't patrol.

*It does not specify whose worker to trash. However, the word "sacrifice" in this game means "your". So you cant trash you opponent workers. You must trash 2 of your own workers or sacrifice your octopus.

Finally
Merfolk (1/1) with midori's second band ability means he is actually 2/2 but we dont put +1 rune on him since midori's ability doesnt mention "rune"
If this buffed merfolk have 1 damage on him he doesnt die. But if midori is killed, merfolk would lose the buff and die immediately.

I think I got these right this time ?


Bloodburn: yes, it gets runes regardless of whose units are dying. If you trade one of your units with an opponent's unit, it will get two runes. For this reason, once you've got it charged up, you are unlikely to ever run out of counters.

Land Octopus: yes, you can only sacrifice your own workers for the Upkeep, you can't sacrifice an opponent's workers.

Midori midband: correct, this does not place runes. Note though that Merfolk Prospector does have an ability, so Midori will not buff it. Common things that Midori's midband applies to include Wisp tokens, Oversized Rhinoceros, or some Illusions (e.g. Spectral Hound)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
CitizenFry wrote:

Note though that Merfolk Prospector does have an ability, so Midori will not buff it. Common things that Midori's midband applies to include Wisp tokens, Oversized Rhinoceros, or some Illusions (e.g. Spectral Hound)


Oops.

Change the scenario to wisp becoming 1/2 with midori midband
No +1 rune is put on him
Wisp get 1 damage on him and survives
Midori dies, wisp automatically dies with him.



About illusion,
If you use a target ability on your own illusion, does it die?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hauge
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CitizenFry wrote:

Land Octopus: yes, you can only sacrifice your own workers for the Upkeep, you can't sacrifice an opponent's workers.

Followup: any effect which tells you to sacrifice a card only allows you to sacrifice your own cards.

Here's the full text from the rulebook (page 20 of the Core Set Rulebook), underlined emphasis mine:
Quote:
Sacrifice a thing
Destroy a thing you control. This does not target, so you can sacrifice untargetable things. It goes to the discard pile unless it was a hero or worker. Heroes go to the command zone and workers are trashed when sacrificed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Churchill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambs
flag msg tools
designer
"If we knew what we were building, it wouldn't be called research!"
badge
Sufficiently advanced mathematics is indistinguishable from magic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MVashM wrote:
Oops.

Change the scenario to wisp becoming 1/2 with midori midband
No +1 rune is put on him
Wisp get 1 damage on him and survives
Midori dies, wisp automatically dies with him.
Yes, that's right. If a 0/1 Wisp has a buff from Midori making him 1/2 (no runes involved), and takes 1 damage, he'll survive. If Midori goes away, the Wisp reverts to being 0/1 with 1 damage, and will immediately die straight after.
Quote:
About illusion,
If you use a target ability on your own illusion, does it die?
Yep. No Spirit of the Panda or Dinosize for your Illusions. (Unless you have Macciatus, The Whisperer out.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.