$15.00
$20.00
$30.00
$5.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

1846» Forums » Rules

Subject: Laying tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tim gagnon
Canada
st-lambert
quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

When laying yellow tiles, must the tile connect to all on baord printed tracks?

Ex: Erie's base is in Salamanca. The hex directly to the East has pre-printed track running into from Slamanca-Homewood and Erie. There si no yellow tile that can accomodate 3 tracks. How then does Eire get out of Salamanca straight east, or even better how do you ever lay a tile in that hex?

thanks you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Salamanca is grey. You *can't* lay a tile on that hex. The Erie uses the pre-printed track to get through Salamanca.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
No. There is no requirement to connect to any tiles other than the one which connects that hex to one of the company's tokens. Why did you think there might be?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim gagnon
Canada
st-lambert
quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Erie, Salamanca and Homewood all have printed tracks going into the hex just East of Salamanca. I thought one needed to connect to those for a legal placement to preserve connections.

I think my misunderstanding comes form the rules regarding upgrades. Upgrades must preserve existing tracks in that hex. I read into that that one must also connect to existing printed tracks.

Yellow tracks can then be placed ignoring incoming tracks? Hence they could block another track?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
tgsparkey wrote:
Erie, Salamanca and Homewood all have printed tracks going into the hex just East of Salamanca. I thought one needed to connect to those for a legal placement to preserve connections.

I think my misunderstanding comes form the rules regarding upgrades. Upgrades must preserve existing tracks in that hex. I read into that that one must also connect to existing printed tracks.

Yellow tracks can then be placed ignoring incoming tracks? Hence they could block another track?



Upgrades must preserve existing tracks including track printed on the board.

As I said above, Salamanca cannot be upgraded because it is already grey. Yellow tiles can only be played on light green board hexes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
tgsparkey wrote:
When laying [yellow tiles or upgrading] tiles, must the tile connect to all [incoming] track [hexsides]?

No. It must preserve all existing track in a hex and there are restrictions on what hexsides new track may be laid against, see 6.45 (GMT version).

Quote:
Erie's base is in Salamanca. The hex directly to the East

I think you meant "West" here, the hex E19. At the start of the game, without any other track on the board, the Erie could lay a straight, gentle curve, or tightly curved yellow track tile in this hex.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tim gagnon
Canada
st-lambert
quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thank you for replies. I did mean West.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
8-bit Matt
United States
flag msg tools
mb
tgsparkey wrote:
Yellow tracks can then be placed ignoring incoming tracks? Hence they could block another track?



Yes - although in most cases temporarily, as upgrades may re-open a path.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I made this mistake in my first 18XX plays as well.

As I understand it, there are two restrictions:
a) You cannot place track that runs off the edge of the board.
b) You cannot upgrade and break existing links.

That means you can ignore existing track that is not already linked. In theory the link could be made in a late upgrade.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris is right. You are not obliged to do anything to connect to any track on neighboring tiles. The two conditions he states both focus on the track on the tile you are laying (must preserve what was already there, and can't point into a prohibited area like a lake.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
claudermilk wrote:
As I understand it, there are two restrictions:
a) You cannot place track that runs off the edge of the board.
b) You cannot upgrade and break existing links.

This isn't a bad summary, as long as "edge of the board" is understood to also include running into all sea hexsides, gray hexsides with no track, or borders of red off-board areas with no track; and not breaking existing "links" includes maintaining current track connectivity.

You can't rearrange where previously existing links *go* when you upgrade a tile; you must maintain the previous *connectivity*, not just *edge* connections. Thus, a #22 tile can only upgrade to a #45 tile, not a #46 tile. Even though all incoming track would continue to meet track if a #46 tile was placed, a #46 tile doesn't maintain the previous #22 tile's connectivity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
I normally phrase that in terms of edge-pairs. The set of connected edges and the set of connected edge-pairs must both be maintained across tile upgrades.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
I normally phrase that in terms of edge-pairs. The set of connected edges and the set of connected edge-pairs must both be maintained across tile upgrades.


I have a faint memory of some errant silliness in specialised city tiles in some game that messes with this.

B>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
/pitchforks

This is of course entirely despite the fact that this sort of pull-up-track-and-degrade-connectivity is precisely the sort of thing I'm looking at for my next design. Holy cows deserve to be gored.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR
Canada
East Sooke
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Memento ferrugo
badge
Memento ferrugo
mbmbmbmbmb
18GL may be what you're thinking of (possibly not the only, but all I am aware of).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
Nahh, even that retains edge-pairs, it just has a few more of them than usual in Chicago.

I suspect he's thinking of 1831.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
/pitchforks

This is of course entirely despite the fact that this sort of pull-up-track-and-degrade-connectivity is precisely the sort of thing I'm looking at for my next design. Holy cows deserve to be gored.

That would make for an interesting variant. Sounds like the kind of shenanigans that must been pulled somewhere at some time.

jrebelo wrote:
18GL may be what you're thinking of (possibly not the only, but all I am aware of).


Damn! That tile is a complex mess!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR
Canada
East Sooke
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Memento ferrugo
badge
Memento ferrugo
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually when you see it on the context of the chicago area of the 18GL board it's quite tame.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.