21 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: How much do you write down before you test? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Moo Cow
msg tools
mb
Out of curiosity, exactly how much do people find they're writing down about game mechanics and getting numbers and what not before they actually start testing the game out? Do you do both simultaneously, or do you get the whole game written out before even trying a single thing?

I'm curious what people have found to be the best practice on this.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Wynn
United States
Collierville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I find that writing ideas down as I think of them helps tremendously. For me, I'm an illustrator. And as I draw out ideas, I keep a word document open to explain how I plan to use the components in the game. Usually this evolves into a ruleset that can be quickly edited if parts of the game are changed.

If nothing else, I may read those notes 6 months later and find a cool idea I had forgotten. And sometimes those notes will inspire a new game idea. Writing early and often is always a good thing for me.

Also, Writing can reveal unforeseen problems early in the design process. Give it a try! And if you need motivation to write, I find that writing how to setup the game, or an example of play can really get the juices flowing.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
I start with the numbers. The numbers happen and are worked before I've made anything or thought about making anything.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Wynn
United States
Collierville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
I start with the numbers. The numbers happen and are worked before I've made anything or thought about making anything.