$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
There's a shape called "The Golden Rectangle". Have you heard of it?
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
It refers to a rectangle that's approximately contstructed in the ratio of 9 to 16. The golden rectangle has several characteristics. Let's say I create a square within this shape. Then, this smaller rectangle that I just created will also be a
badge
golden rectangle. I make another square within that and the leftover is another golden rectangle. And I make a few more, and when I connect all the central points of these shapes it creates a spiral that continues forever. This is the "Golden Spin".
mbmbmbmbmb
See title.

Edit: The rulebook has a strict "ignore opportunity OR place a merchant in a closed region" while the company ledger cards have an "and/or" on the reminder. Which is correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Wehrle
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
"Work as if you live in the early days of a better nation"
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have ready access to the rules, but I can answer your question.

If placing a merchant in a closed region using a special envoy, the opportunity requirement is ignored.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
There's a shape called "The Golden Rectangle". Have you heard of it?
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
It refers to a rectangle that's approximately contstructed in the ratio of 9 to 16. The golden rectangle has several characteristics. Let's say I create a square within this shape. Then, this smaller rectangle that I just created will also be a
badge
golden rectangle. I make another square within that and the leftover is another golden rectangle. And I make a few more, and when I connect all the central points of these shapes it creates a spiral that continues forever. This is the "Golden Spin".
mbmbmbmbmb
I would definitely note that in the rules. The large capital "OR" really implies otherwise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree, the "OR" in this rule should be removed. Then it would make sense. I think the special envoy is used just to enable placement in a closed region, regardless of opportunity.

I would revise it to say: "Players may spend a single special envoy to ignore the opportunity requirement during the place action to place a merchant (from their holdings) in a legal zone.
"

Edit: good grief! I just figured out I've been playing Merchants wrong! You can only place them in a land area with an open port (if you have opportunity). I was playing them just like fleet and opium enterprises, where you just need opportunity in a closed port area. Now special envoys and this rule make a lot more sense!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
There's a shape called "The Golden Rectangle". Have you heard of it?
United States
Little Canada
Minnesota
flag msg tools
It refers to a rectangle that's approximately contstructed in the ratio of 9 to 16. The golden rectangle has several characteristics. Let's say I create a square within this shape. Then, this smaller rectangle that I just created will also be a
badge
golden rectangle. I make another square within that and the leftover is another golden rectangle. And I make a few more, and when I connect all the central points of these shapes it creates a spiral that continues forever. This is the "Golden Spin".
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, which is why I mentioned that in my post and asked which of the two was printed incorrectly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin

Brooklyn
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you spend a Special Envoy during a place action to ignore Opportunity when placing a non-merchant enterprise? Like placing a fleet?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roel van der Hoorn
Netherlands
Enschede
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jmartinez wrote:
Can you spend a Special Envoy during a place action to ignore Opportunity when placing a non-merchant enterprise? Like placing a fleet?

Yes. That's what the "ignore opportunity" part of a Special Envoy is for, since Merchants can only be placed in open ports.

Opportunity: Opium or Fleet
Open port: Opium, Fleet or Merchant
Special Envoy: Opium, Fleet or Merchant
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.