Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Survive: Dolphins & Squids & 5-6 Players...Oh My!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Squids.... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Dorton
United States
Norton
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just want to make sure I am playing this correctly.... when a whale tile is flipped, we bring in a Whale to an Empty tile, and a squid to an empty tile, and as its brought In it can pull someone off the island right away if they are adjacent? Or does it have to be activated via a whale symbol on the dice first? and also.... Can it dive, and come up and Eat a Survivor on land? and... when pulling a land tile under the waters... does it have to be a land tile that is eligible to be flipped (Example beach first, then Jungle, then Mountain) can it just pull a mountain tile under the water the first round of the game? if it does... what happens to the Survivors that is on the island tile? Just go in the water? and... do you just discard the tile w/o viewing or activating the results?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Srdj
Croatia
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First of all, once the whale tile is flipped the whale isn't placed on an "empty tile" per say, it is placed precisely on the space where you flipped the tile, so there could actually be player pieces on it.

And yes, the squid is placed adjacent to a terrain tile and if there is a person on the adjacent terrain tile, the squid snatches it and the meeple is removed from the game. It does not have to be activated by a die.

If it doesn't say in the rules that it can dive then it can't dive, its as simple as that.

The beach tiles are activated first and pulled under water, then grass tiles then mountain tiles. The rules are pretty clear on that. Did you read the rules? They also state that the player pieces on the tile that is sunk become swimmers.

It also states in the rules that if the tile is a "green" tile it is activated right away and if its a "red" tile it is kept secret in front of you to be used on your future turns.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.