1 , 2 , 3 , 4  Next »   | 

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » General

Subject: A very complicated FFG game! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Exupery Ether
msg tools
mb
Received the game yesterday. I could not wait to jump into it, so to speak.

It took me 65 MINUTES only to set-up the first scenario. 65 minutes set-up for a card game?!

Then another 90 minutes trying to understand / decipher the game mechanics, the confusing rules. Suffice to say, I could not wrap my head around it.

For me, Arkham Horror the Card Game is by very far the most convoluted and tortuous FFG game released in the last few years.

I think I am getting old too fast. I have been playing board games for over 15 years now. It seems I don't have anymore the will to learn heavy rule books nor the stamina to follow tiny written rules in 30 pages books.

As a major Lovecraft acolyte I was very much looking forward this game. I was also hoping to play it together with 8 years old kid. No such chance.

As it is now I will stick to my beloved Mansions of Madness 2nd Edition and Eldritch Horror.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sherri Fillingham
msg tools
mb
I have to admit that, without yet having my game in hand, I'm worried about this. There have been so many questions about rules that have come up in the last few days and often complicated responses, that I'm seriously wondering if I will ever get this to the table.

Now, I would be playing solo, so at least I'm not wasting other people's time, but my time is valuable too.

Hoping that when I get the game something clicks and I don't find it as complicated as others seem to have found it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Once upon a time, this is the way ALL FFG games were...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Purcell
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge