$30.00
$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Union River Floatillas and Forts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Hojnacki
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So an odd situation occurred in our game and we want some clarification on what we should do or what we did wrong (only our 1st game).

The Confederate player has a Fort and SPs at Columbus Ky. The Union Player launches a combined attack again the hex. They win the naval battle and remain along the hexside. Then the Union land force marches in, wins the battle destroying the fort and forcing the SPs to retreat. The river boats remain along the hexside.

The Confederates return later in large numbers and the Union land forces decides to avoid battle.

Then the Confederate player builds a fort again in Columbus.

If were reading the rules right NSP can't remain in a enemy fort location.

So what happens to the Union river boats? Are they forced to move away from Columbus?

Can the Confederates even build a fort with the Union NSP present?

Any help would be appreciated.
Steve

PS Sorry if such a question has already been asked and answered and I simply missed the post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ruiz
United States
San diego
California
flag msg tools
mb
Rule 21.2.3 Ending Hex restriction covers that, I believe:

Ending Hex Restriction: Naval Units of the Phasing Player can
never end the Player Action Phase in an island, hex or hexside with
enemy Forts, Coastal Forts, Naval Batteries or Naval Units. After
all Movement and Combat is completed, all such Naval Units must
conduct a Naval Retreat (21.6.8). This rule also applies to non-Phasing
Player Naval Units, but only to the extent the non-Phasing
Player Naval Units violate this restriction after the Phasing Player
has completed all of his Naval Retreats. Non-Phasing Player Naval
Retreats are conducted as if the Naval Units were a defender that
lost a Naval Battle.

Dave
Worst U.S. Civil War player...ever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
David is correct.

Also, note that Naval Units are located in hexes, but on occasion you must designate the specific hexside within that hex. To attack a Fort or Naval Units you must enter their hex. If you don't enter their hex, you are Running the Guns rather than conducting a Naval Battle assuming you are in an adjacent hex on a hexside shared with the hex of the enemy Naval Units or fort.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.