Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Unicornus Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification of Battle Rules and other questions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
EGG Head
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wondering if I've got this correct or not

For attacking Kingdom-> characters roll dice = military power (number of soldier chips under their control and any allies) minus defense value of space entered.
Assign dice to Empire soldier chips or Enemy

For attacking Princess-> all Enemies auto die, apply damage to Princess's soldier chips or her = to the military value on the Enemy card + Enemy soldier chips

For attacking Empire Enemies-> apply damage = to Military value on Enemy card as well as soldier chips? Do Kingdom characters get to roll or do any damage back?

Also during enemy movement do all Enemy tokens except blue ones and all enemy soldier chips move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacques
Germany
München
flag msg tools
lorna wrote:
Wondering if I've got this correct or not

For attacking Kingdom-> characters roll dice = military power (number of soldier chips under their control and any allies) minus defense value of space entered.
Assign dice to Empire soldier chips or Enemy

Correct, bur you cannot assign dice to an enemy character as long as all soldier chips do not have a die assigned to them.


lorna wrote:

For attacking Princess-> all Enemies auto die, apply damage to Princess's soldier chips or her = to the military value on the Enemy card + Enemy soldier chips

Correct. That's how we play as well.

lorna wrote:

For attacking Empire Enemies-> apply damage = to Military value on Enemy card as well as soldier chips? Do Kingdom characters get to roll or do any damage back?


When Empire enemies attack, the battle is similar to when kingdom characters attack. Enemies do not assign damages automatically to you (except if they attack the princess or if you do not have any army token with you) and you have to roll dice every time.
The only differences in rules are:
- You use the "Defense" part of the character card to resolve dice instead of the attack part.
- You get extra dice for the location defensive bonus instead substracting dice.

lorna wrote:

Also during enemy movement do all Enemy tokens except blue ones and all enemy soldier chips move?

For regular enemies (white background or soldier chips alone): Only if you are in a location next to them.
For agressive enemies (red background): if you are on the same or an adjacent area (area = group of seven locations)
For defensive enemies (blue background): they never move.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EGG Head
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Georgios P.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
It won't be easy. But it can be done.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Instead of starting a new thread, I'd just add my question here.

After reading through this thread, my current understanding of the battle mechanics is this.

After assigning (and resolving) dice, Imperial characters deal damage according to military value (printed on the card) + military chits (on the current space).

Also, when Imperial characters move into a space with military chits, they merge and drag them along. Imperial characters are not limited in the number of chits they can bring with them.

Is that correct?

Another question... if an Imperial character becomes an ally due to a Fate card effect, are all the military chits on that space removed along with the character?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacques
Germany
München
flag msg tools
According to my gaming group's understanding:
Quote:
After assigning (and resolving) dice, Imperial characters deal damage according to military value (printed on the card) + military chits (on the current space).

Would rather write: Imperial characters deal damage according to military value (printed on the card) + military chits (present before the battle) left with unassigned dice. If, for instance, the sum of these two values is 8 and you roll only 5 dice, you automatically get 3 hits in addition to the hits you will roll.

Quote:
Also, when Imperial characters move into a space with military chits, they merge and drag them along. Imperial characters are not limited in the number of chits they can bring with them.

Yes, correct

Quote:
if an Imperial character becomes an ally due to a Fate card effect, are all the military chits on that space removed along with the character?

No, they stay there (thematically not so great, but you can imagine those troops are led by feudal lords who always remain loyal to the emperor)

Hope that helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.