$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

The Colonists» Forums » Rules

Subject: when exactly are you allowed to fire workers? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Ham
Malta
Marsalforn
Gozo, Malta
flag msg tools
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
mbmbmbmbmb
so obviously you can do it at the end of every year (returning them from their job tile to their home tile). But it seems there are some circumstances where you can do it during the year as well, correct?

Are these the only times when it's allowed to do so (and in fact, are these even allowed)?

when i upgrade a building with a worker, the worker on that building is sent home immediately?

when i raze a building with a worker, that worker is sent home immediately?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
On workers on razed buildings - Page 14:

If you raze a Building with a Worker present, the Worker becomes unemployed and returns, as a normal Colonist, to his Residence. You may activate the new Building immediately (but you may have to pay the Sustenance cost, see page 16).

On upgrading - Page 15:

From Era II onward, you may remodel other types of Buildings as well, replacing them with stronger versions of themselves (e.g., so they can generate or store more goods). The stronger versions, however, require a
“better” type of Worker be employed. This in turn renders the previous Worker unemployed, so he returns to his Residence.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Annemarie Post
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So when you raze or upgrade you can send your workers back home during the year. Important to note that you can also raze buildings if there is still place on your player board.

I can't think of other moments when you would be allowed to take a worker back. It's e.g. not allowed when you would want to upgrade a farm to a flat but don't have any unemployed workers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Ham
Malta
Marsalforn
Gozo, Malta
flag msg tools
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool, then I read it right!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Okolica
United States
Washington Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Anny48 wrote:

I can't think of other moments when you would be allowed to take a worker back. It's e.g. not allowed when you would want to upgrade a farm to a flat but don't have any unemployed workers.


Cute, though. I hadn't thought about razing the Forest House he's working at so he comes home and I can (with another action) upgrade the farm to a flat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Avers
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Butterfly0038 wrote:
Cute, though. I hadn't thought about razing the Forest House he's working at so he comes home and I can (with another action) upgrade the farm to a flat.
Though, if I read the rules correctly. you can only raze something if you intend replace it immediately. We haven't actually needed to raze yet in our games, but the more we play, the more opportunities we see where it could be very useful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kisli Kiwi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, quick question.

I have a Storage shed without a worker. Then I build a farm. Can I send the new worker to the shed immediately or must I wait for the end of the year ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
kislikiwi wrote:
Ok, quick question.

I have a Storage shed without a worker. Then I build a farm. Can I send the new worker to the shed immediately or must I wait for the end of the year ?


You can immediately, but to do so you have to pay sustenance. Good thing that sustenance for a farmer is free.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kisli Kiwi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the quick reply!

I have another question - going through the introductionary game right now (medium difficulty) and it's not really clear to me what happens if you fail to sustain your workers. Do I pay the missing sustenance goods with other goods? Or...?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
kislikiwi wrote:
Thank you for the quick reply!

I have another question - going through the introductionary game right now (medium difficulty) and it's not really clear to me what happens if you fail to sustain your workers. Do I pay the missing sustenance goods with other goods? Or...?


No. You always sustain your workers. As you only need sustain those which are out on buildings, if you cannot sustain your current number of them, move some of them back home to their apartments or flats or whereever to reduce the sustenance cost required.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kisli Kiwi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again. I guess I'll need to re-read the rules a couple of times to really understand how the game works. Really enjoying it so far though
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.