$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Star Wars: Rebellion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Count all skill icons during an attempt rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven L
msg tools
Hi,
Interrogation droid and lure of the dark side cards say.
Count all skill icons during this attempt... what does it mean exactly?
1. Do I have to count all skill icons there are on a leader card?
2. Do I have to count the skill icons of the captured leader also?
3. Or is it a mix of the two...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith Craig
United States
Bellevue
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You count all the skill icons of all of your leaders in the system, and your opponent counts all of the skill icons on their leaders in the system including the captured leader, since both of those missions are against the captured leader.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
Just remember the maximum dice is 10 (IE, you'll never have to roll more than the dice provided).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Witold G
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
And to quote the relevant rules...

RR p. 09, "Opposition" subsection:
"• If a mission specifies to “count all skill icons during this
attempt,” players roll one die for each skill icon on their
respective leaders."


RR p. 09, "Opposition" subsection:
"• A captured leader does not participate in the mission,
and it is treated as if it is not in the system. The only time
that a captured leader contributes its skill icons is when a
mission is attempted against it."
9 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Perf wrote:
And to quote the relevant rules...

RR p. 09, "Opposition" subsection:
"• If a mission specifies to “count all skill icons during this
attempt,” players roll one die for each skill icon on their
respective leaders."


RR p. 09, "Opposition" subsection:
"• A captured leader does not participate in the mission,
and it is treated as if it is not in the system. The only time
that a captured leader contributes its skill icons is when a
mission is attempted against it."

How dare you! ... Citing the rulebook to answer a rules question! What blasphemy!



8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riccardo Menozzi
Italy
Reggio Emilia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SO isn't that the case with every mission that is attempted with two or more leaders present? I always count all the skill icons
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Vrass wrote:
SO isn't that the case with every mission that is attempted with two or more leaders present? I always count all the skill icons

Yes, you always use the icons of all leaders in the system, but you don't use every icon on each leader; you usually only count the icons that match the Mission card's type.

With the particular cards mentioned in the OP, you instead use all of the icons of the leader tokens, whether they match the Missions type or not.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Voy-tak Krawomms
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
Vrass wrote:
SO isn't that the case with every mission that is attempted with two or more leaders present? I always count all the skill icons

Yes, you always use the icons of all leaders in the system, but you don't use every icon on each leader; you usually only count the icons that match the Mission card's type.

With the particular cards mentioned in the OP, you instead use all of the icons of the leader tokens, whether they match the Missions type or not.


How do you know that you are using only the icons (of all the leaders present in the system) that match the mission card's type?
I agree, cuz it makes sense but the wording of the rules is that you have to use all the icons. No restrictions to type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Voy_tak wrote:
How do you know that you are using only the icons (of all the leaders present in the system) that match the mission card's type?
I agree, cuz it makes sense but the wording of the rules is that you have to use all the icons. No restrictions to type.


It seems you have missed the bolded part in the following rule:
RRG - Mission Cards wrote:
If there are at least one Imperial and one Rebel leader in the
system, the mission is opposed, and players must roll dice to
determine whether the mission succeeds. Each player rolls a
number of dice equal to the combined number of skill icons
on all of his leaders in the system whose skill icons match the
mission card’s skill
. The current player rolls dice first, followed
by his opponent.


This is indicating that you only count the matching Skill icons.

This is backed up by the example in the Learn to Play guide on p8 which states:
LtP - p8 wrote:
He rolls dice only for skill
icons that match the mission’s skill requirement.

And has a follow-up image showing you counting only the matching icons.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Voy-tak Krawomms
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All your above quotes are referring to the "normal" way of resolving missions and there the case is clear but my question (or doubt) is about the wording on missions which require you to count all skill icons.
I thought that in case of such a card/mission the leader(s) roll dice number equal to all his skill icons, regardless of the type.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Theorel Masheriel
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mb
Voy_tak wrote:
All your above quotes are referring to the "normal" way of resolving missions and there the case is clear but my question (or doubt) is about the wording on missions which require you to count all skill icons.
I thought that in case of such a card/mission the leader(s) roll dice number equal to all his skill icons, regardless of the type.

That's the second of 2 lines in the post you quoted...

Voy_tak wrote:
Clipper wrote:
Vrass wrote:
SO isn't that the case with every mission that is attempted with two or more leaders present? I always count all the skill icons

Yes, you always use the icons of all leaders in the system, but you don't use every icon on each leader; you usually only count the icons that match the Mission card's type.

With the particular cards mentioned in the OP, you instead use all of the icons of the leader tokens, whether they match the Missions type or not.


How do you know that you are using only the icons (of all the leaders present in the system) that match the mission card's type?
I agree, cuz it makes sense but the wording of the rules is that you have to use all the icons. No restrictions to type.

bolded for emphasis.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.