Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cards with an underline and an asterisk rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin L
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
How do these stay on the board? They say if played as an event to remove them from the game. Do they have to be played as a result of the other player using them for the cards operational value? Do cards played in the headline phase get removed as though they were played as events? Thanks for the help!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Cards with an underline and an asterick
Headline cards are played as events. Other events can be triggered by opponent playing the card as you wrote, or by you playing a card for the event instead of for ops. The ones you're talking about are then removed from the game. They don't stay "on the board" except as a reminder for you as to what effects are active.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Len K
United States
Westford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
It was 50 years ago today.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Cards with an underline and an asterick
snoozefest wrote:
They don't stay "on the board" except as a reminder for you as to what effects are active.

And that's what the small counters are for (I actually prefer to lay out the cards next to the board).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin L
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Re: Cards with an underline and an asterik
snoozefest wrote:
Headline cards are played as events. Other events can be triggered by opponent playing the card as you wrote, or by you playing a card for the event instead of for ops. The ones you're talking about are then removed from the game. They don't stay "on the board" except as a reminder for you as to what effects are active.


Oh! So the underline denotes an effect that stays active but the asterisk says that the actual card can not be redrawn . Is that correct?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Smith
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IamtheLaw382 wrote:
Oh! So the underline denotes an effect that stays active but the asterisk says that the actual card can not be redrawn . Is that correct?

That's correct.

Just to clarify, if an asterisked card is played as an event, it isn't put in the discard pile, but removed from the game. If it's used for ops, it is put in the discard pile to come back later.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Gallo
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Venser wrote:
Just to clarify, if an asterisked card is played as an event, it isn't put in the discard pile, but removed from the game. If it's used for ops, it is put in the discard pile to come back later.


I'm sure you know this but I think its important to point out for new players that it will depends on who uses the card for ops.

If you use the opposing player's event for ops, the event will trigger and it will still not be put into the discard pile. If you use your own event for ops then it will go into the discard pile.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin L
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Thanks for the help! Definitely a new player so it's all appreciated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.