$15.00
$5.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Love Letter Premium» Forums » Rules

Subject: Race condition? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ignacio Fernández Galván
Sweden
flag msg tools
How would the following situation be resolved?

At the end of a round, three players remain:

A: has a Princess (8), and discarded three Guards (total: 3)
B: has a Countess (7), and discarded two Counts and a Guard (total: 11, add 2 to the Countess)
C: has a Bishop (9), and discarded a King, a Constable and a Guard (total: 13)

Who wins?

If only A and B were standing, B would win (7+2 > 8)
If only B and C were standing, C would win (7+2 = 9, but 13 > 11)
If only C and A were standing, A would win (Princess beats Bishop)

What happens with the three players? What is resolved first? I'd suggest that "card effects" are resolved first, so the Bishop loses first, and then the numbers are compared, so B wins at the end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, I'd say the Countess+2 wins.

I'd argue that you get that result even if you determine order by number first though…

Step 1 - Order by numbers:
1 Bishop
2 Countess+2
3 Princess

Step 2 - Special Princess Power:
1 Bishop oops, you're not allowed in front of the Princess
1 Countess+2
2 Princess
3 Bishop
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ignacio Fernández Galván
Sweden
flag msg tools
Since the Bishop says "The Princess beats the Bishop", someone could argue instead:

Step 1 - Order by numbers:
1 Bishop
2 Countess+2
3 Princess

Step 2 - Special Bishop "Power":
1 Princess
2 Bishop
3 Countess+2
3 Princess Bishop says Princess must come before the Bishop
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jellby wrote:
Step 2 - Special Bishop "Power":
1 Princess
2 Bishop
3 Countess+2
3 Princess Bishop says Princess must come before the Bishop


That's true. I didn't think of that!

In fact, I think it's weird that the Countess could win over the Princess by using those extra points from the Counts… It doesn't feel right thematically that any card should be able to beat the Princess in the final showdown (something that is respected by the special Bishop rule, but not by the special Count rule).

So, I'd be inclined to bypass the problem by having the Princess win either way… although I assume there's a balance issue behind the decision to let the Countess+2 beat the Princess, since that's explicitly covered in the rulebook (hence, obviously not just an oversight). And I guess I'd side with balance over theme…

As for the original issue, you have me stumped…
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.