$15.00
$30.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Trek: The Dice Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do M events stack on M events? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My mission M event is "Draw a card", let's assume I draw another M card stating "M:Do two damage". Is this M event immediately triggered, i.e. would I after drawing the card get two damage immediately?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Horinek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Dan Dare, 1950
badge
Stairway scare, Dan Dare, who's there!
mbmbmbmbmb
All M effects on the table will trigger in Mission phase.
i.e. "yes" if you drew the event in the Mission phase, otherwise it is gonna wait for the next Mission phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I like this game more as an activity and so when I draw an event in the mission phase which itself has a mission action, I don't trigger it till the next mission phase, which gives me some chance to eliminate it before it triggers. I may switch to taking it right away eventually when I want a greater challenge and/or I'm more confident.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Having played through my game and teaching someone else, I think taking the damage immediately from an event turned from the executing M actions is the right thing to do. My game was a bit too easy and my friend had a handful playing the more severe rule but he did OK and it seems to work better.

We had another issue though. He had 2 events simultaneously that both wanted the 1st security result rolled. It wasn't clear which had precedence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl White
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, ALL M actions are played during the Mission phase, so if you draw an event with an M action as a result of a Mission M action, the event M action triggers immediately.

Re 2 Security result rerolls, you need to reroll the 1st two security results.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
carlwhite wrote:
Yes, ALL M actions are played during the Mission phase, so if you draw an event with an M action as a result of a Mission M action, the event M action triggers immediately.

Re 2 Security result rerolls, you need to reroll the 1st two security results.


Is that just what you think (which I'm still interested in) or is that in a FAQ somewhere or did the designer say that? I haven't found any sources for that sort of thing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Horinek
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
Dan Dare, 1950
badge
Stairway scare, Dan Dare, who's there!
mbmbmbmbmb
carbon_dragon wrote:
carlwhite wrote:
Yes, ALL M actions are played during the Mission phase, so if you draw an event with an M action as a result of a Mission M action, the event M action triggers immediately.

Re 2 Security result rerolls, you need to reroll the 1st two security results.


Is that just what you think (which I'm still interested in) or is that in a FAQ somewhere or did the designer say that? I haven't found any sources for that sort of thing.


He is the designer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl White
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
yeeshkul wrote:
carbon_dragon wrote:
carlwhite wrote:
Yes, ALL M actions are played during the Mission phase, so if you draw an event with an M action as a result of a Mission M action, the event M action triggers immediately.

Re 2 Security result rerolls, you need to reroll the 1st two security results.


Is that just what you think (which I'm still interested in) or is that in a FAQ somewhere or did the designer say that? I haven't found any sources for that sort of thing.


He is the designer.


Guilty as charged

The rules cover the M action. Check the last part of the Mission Phase in section 5:

Mission Phase:
* Deplete Crystal Reserves: If a Mission is in play advance the Dilithium Crystal Reserves track one space. If the token reaches space zero, discard the Mission as failed and draw an Event Card.
* Refresh Mission: If no Mission Card is in play, draw one and place it on the game board, adding any marker tokens required and returning Crystal Reserves to the starting value . See “Mission Cards” below.
* Activate Mission Actions. These may listed be on Mission cards, Event cards or Development cards. Mission Actions are indicated by this symbol:

If an Event card is drawn during this stage which has the Mission Action symbol, that Mission Action triggers.

The second point does not get covered in the rulebook, but I seem to remember answering a similar question in another thread. I'll need to go back to check to ensure my answers are consistent!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This last play I didn't have the no modification to added dice from say Captain Kirk correct. I saw it in the rules after. I modified a couple of dice but I know now. Typically you can use the dice straight and modify your own dice so it's not usually an issue.

I hope to print the new TOS cards from Artscow at some point soon. I also am a little interested in a two player variant with two ships helping each other so I can play it with my usual partner. I'm thinking 1 set of cards, 2 play mats, developments private, with events and missions modifiable on both ships by the other ship each with it's own events and missions.

EDIT: By the way, I really like this game. It's got just the right level of challenge, really nice theme in the cards (especially the missions and developments), and a great look if you get the Artscow stuff. Taught it to a friend yesterday and he as supposed to go home at 5 but it was 5:30 before he could tear himself away.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Griffin
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
carlwhite wrote:

Guilty as charged

The rules cover the M action. Check the last part of the Mission Phase in section 5:

Mission Phase:
* Deplete Crystal Reserves: If a Mission is in play advance the Dilithium Crystal Reserves track one space. If the token reaches space zero, discard the Mission as failed and draw an Event Card.
* Refresh Mission: If no Mission Card is in play, draw one and place it on the game board, adding any marker tokens required and returning Crystal Reserves to the starting value . See “Mission Cards” below.
* Activate Mission Actions. These may listed be on Mission cards, Event cards or Development cards. Mission Actions are indicated by this symbol:

If an Event card is drawn during this stage which has the Mission Action symbol, that Mission Action triggers.

The second point does not get covered in the rulebook, but I seem to remember answering a similar question in another thread. I'll need to go back to check to ensure my answers are consistent!


Thanks. Yes I kind of figured out that HAD to be the right way to go and I'm playing that way now. Great game. I like both your game and Deep Space D-6 game you took inspiration from. I feel like there should be a way for two players to play side by side and influence each other's game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.