Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Violet Mackerel
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a -- in my opinion -- whip-smart (computer programmer, 3d animator, math-brainy, but also literary and into the arts and philosophy) friend who recently bought a game table that is currently being used for jigsaw puzzles with a partner/roommate. I'd like to get them a game for Christmas. We've talked a little about games, so it wouldn't be out of the blue (i.e. they're not going to growl, "jigsaw puzzles only"), but since I'm relatively new to playing and still have more games on my "Want to Play" list than my "Have Played," I'd love to see some of your recommendations.

The game should play well with two players, and it's okay if it's *only* for two, but would be nice if there was a solo variant as well.

Might Patchwork be a good choice? I haven't played that one yet, but I heard you don't have to be a quilter to appreciate it. I was also thinking about Hive or Tsuro (which I have played).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
New Richmond
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Patchwork was definitely the first thing that came to my mind too. It's a great two player game and no, you definitely don't need to be a quilter to appreciate it. If spatial thinking is their strong suit you can't go wrong with that one.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Carney
United States
Fairmont
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe you could give The Ravens of Thri Sahashri a shot. It is subtle, original, challenging, and on top of it all - inexpensive.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Carcassonne sounds like it might be suitable too... Would definitely appeal to his puzzle roots!

Lots of expansions available too should he want to expand later.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett McLay
United States
South Burlington
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb