$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cosmic zap question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
michael zalter
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My group played CE last night. Loser decided to use his power and declared an upset during the planning phase before encounter cards were chosen, which is appropriate. Then during the resolution phase, after players contributed reinforcements, a player used a cosmic zap to negate Losers power in order to undo the upset and reverse the outcome. Is this legal? Our group were split on whether this was allowed. Any legal experts want to weigh in?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colm McCarthy
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not legal. You play a cosmic zap as soon as a player announces that they're using their special power, so it could only be played legally during the planning phase in this case.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Homer Simpson
Israel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it is not legal. Any Cosmic Zap should be played when a power is used, not two phases after.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not allowed.

Cosmic Zap needs to be played when the power is used, and it is used during planning. You can't let the game continue to gain new information, then rewind the game to play Cosmic Zap. Either you play it when the power is used or you knowingly do not play it.

However, players can not speed through the steps to prevent others from playing cards at the appropriate times. Ample time needs to be given or you need to ask if you can move to the next step. CE is not a speed or dexterity game.

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael zalter
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you everyone for the speedy response and rule clarification.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just a Bill
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
No, I said "oh, brother," not "go hover."
If any of your players give you grief about this, ask them to consider the following. If the "late zap" were to be allowed, then in this case wouldn't you have to undo Loser's requirement that both players play attack cards if possible? Basically, roll back the game state so that the power "never happened"?

Avoiding the messiness of gameplay rollbacks is just one reason why pretty much every kind of zap/cancel effect needs to happen immediately. A zap is a prevention, not an "undo." Once a game effect is declared, if it is not zapped right away then it has basically already begun to have its effect, even if the final resolution of its influence is still a few phases away.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.