GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,218 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eight Epics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Step Following "Challenge Completion" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
D. B.
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was learning/playing the new AEG release of Eight Epics last night and came across a typo in the rulebook that I need clarification on. After completing a single challenge within a disaster, what is the player's next step?

Within the rulebook, it states the next step is "Step 3" which is using health to use a power. However, the quick reference guide on the back of the rulebook states the next step is "Step 2" which is the Reroll step.

Which is correct? Thanks for any help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JC
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I don't think it s a typo. In fact, your hero has only one free reroll on his turn.
As his turn has already begun, he didn't have a second reroll. So it goes to step 3 you can reroll or use his hability by spending one life or end his turn and then the next hero begin his phase.
In this case the new hero has his free reroll.

That is what I understand from the rules and the video review.






1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D. B.
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the help! I appreciate it!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr, Figoli
Uruguay
Montevideo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Hi!, i have the same question as you, so i checked the last online rulebook, the 1.6, and the ruling is different

"After the new dice pool is rolled, the active
player may then go back to Step 2: Rerolls if
they want to attempt the new challenge with
the active avatar (going back to Step 1 to select
a new avatar is not allowed). "

I think that has to be the last version of the manual, so the quick reference seems to be the correct official rule.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dr, Figoli
Uruguay
Montevideo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
(That say, is way, WAY more challenging with the One free Reroll for turn, i playing it that way, official or not )
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Edwards
United States
Grove City
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I appreciate the help offered but this is still confusing to me. The latest rulebook sounds like the op's question which seems like a typo. Do you get a "free" reroll upon moving to another challenge with the same hero or does a hero get exactly one "free" reroll when originally selected regardless of how many challenges he is used on?

If there could be more clarity and something official that would be great.

Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Katrina
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have the Kanai Factory Limited Edition from 2016. There is nothing on the back page quick reference regarding this rule, just the text in the rulebook saying go back to Step 3. I think there are a few other changes/improvements to the game so they probably fixed this issue as well for clarity's sake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce Journey
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DrWildcat wrote:
I appreciate the help offered but this is still confusing to me. The latest rulebook sounds like the op's question which seems like a typo. Do you get a "free" reroll upon moving to another challenge with the same hero or does a hero get exactly one "free" reroll when originally selected regardless of how many challenges he is used on?

If there could be more clarity and something official that would be great.

Thanks in advance.


I agree with Dr. Figoli's assessment above. The AEG 2016 printed rulebook definitely has conflicting information on pg 16 compared to the turn summary on the back of the rulebook. It appears that pg 16 is the misprint because the 2016 online rulebook, which was posted after the printed one, does not have conflicting information. According to the 2016 online rulebook, both pg 16 and the turn summary at the end of the rules both agree that a player goes back to Step 2 after a challenge is completed successfully. So, yes, unlike earlier editions of the game, a character that just successfully completed a challenge and then stays active to attempt the next one does indeed get another "free" reroll. And not just a single throw of three dice - the complete sequence of Step 2, including the recursive throws after the initial throw of three dice. I feel that's worth pointing out since many of the people who posted videos don't appear to have taken the recursive throws for some reason even if they paid a life point to conduct rerolls as described in Step 2 again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.