Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Battlestar Galactica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo Cylon?! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Valentin Fezza
msg tools
So I crawled for a good long while yesterday and came up with no definitive answer to this.

Yesterday we were playing 5-man core BSG. One of the players was Gaius, and one of the Loyalty Cards he got right off the bat was a YAAC card.

Sleeper Agent phase comes around and he, still unrevealed, gets the other one. Now here's where it got kinda weird.

Instead of revealing himself and handing off his additional YAAC card to someone else, he chose to just reveal himself and keep the additional YAAC in his possession for the rest of the game.

This was disastrous for us, the good guys, since we became absolutely paranoid that a Cylon was still lose. Skill cards were spent, people ended up rotting in the Brig. Long story short, the bastard won.

So my question is: can he actually do that? Can a Cylon choose to reveal himself and keep his additional Cylon card to himself indefinitely? Or is he forced at some point to hand it off to someone else using the Resurrection Ship location?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next total solar eclipse holiday in 2017 in the USA.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With the base game there is no automatic loyalty card handoff. If a revealed cylon wants to pass the unrevealed loyalty cards, he needs to activate the resurrection ship's action. There is no requirement to do so though.

7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Well? Am I?
badge
Don't Blink.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Molkavi wrote:
So I crawled for a good long while yesterday and came up with no definitive answer to this.

Yesterday we were playing 5-man core BSG. One of the players was Gaius, and one of the Loyalty Cards he got right off the bat was a YAAC card.

Sleeper Agent phase comes around and he, still unrevealed, gets the other one. Now here's where it got kinda weird.

Instead of revealing himself and handing off his additional YAAC card to someone else, he chose to just reveal himself and keep the additional YAAC in his possession for the rest of the game.

This was disastrous for us, the good guys, since we became absolutely paranoid that a Cylon was still lose. Skill cards were spent, people ended up rotting in the Brig. Long story short, the bastard won.

So my question is: can he actually do that? Can a Cylon choose to reveal himself and keep his additional Cylon card to himself indefinitely? Or is he forced at some point to hand it off to someone else using the Resurrection Ship location?

Thanks!


That's some old-fashioned guile right there.

http://tng.trekcore.com/audiocaps/2x21/2x21-klingonguile-e.m...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh aka "OssianGrr"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He deserves twice the win for pulling that off robotrobotrobotrobotrobotrobot
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a PBF game (one of the early ones) with just the same scenario: solo Cylon win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Entirely legitimate with base game or just Exodus expansion. Pegasus and Daybreak both introduce an automatic Loyalty hand-off.

Out of interest, what mechanism would you suggest for requiring a double-Cylon to recruit a buddy?

Any variation on "Players with more than one You Are A Cylon Loyalty card cannot win" seems a bit unfair - if they can play a good enough game to win meet a Cylon victory condition without backup, penalising them for it strikes me as backwards.

Unless you decide to introduce some kind of free hand-off, you're requiring the double-Cylon to spend one of their turns handing off their spare Loyalty rather than doing something more obviously useful - and you're requiring them to reveal as a Cylon early enough to have that turn spare in which to do it - it's possible for there to be no actions between Sleeper and reaching the distance-7 cutoff (FTL jump to 6 distance and then pass Legendary Discovery as that turn's Crisis), let alone making it twice around the table. In a 5-player game, it's possible for humans to win with one player not having had an action post-Sleeper (FTL to 5-6 distance on that player's final action, pass Crippled Raider, get a Jump Prep on the next Crisis, FTL on the third player's turn to distance 8 and pass Network Computers, get another Jump Prep on the 4th crisis, and the 5th player activates FTL to end the game) and Cylons can win even faster, so it's not even practical to require a double-Cylon to find time for a hand-off, when they might not even have time to reveal...

So, yeah, as others have said, there's no rule requiring a double-Cylon to hand off their spare Loyalty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
YMMV. I've seen games where missing a whole cylon has ended up being a boon for the Colonial Fleet. The card draws, discards, die rolls, and events in general ended up not doing enough for mistrust to undo that.

Then there's a case where we took it upon blind faith to trust each other... this was a game with Pegasus and Exodus expansions...
Pre-sleeper cylon revealed and hammered us. Sleeper phase, I got brigged because of being Boomer. One player proposed a bold idea... get me out of the Brig. If I were human, I could provide much needed piloting help with all the raiders and civvies swamping us. If I were a cylon, I would help the other cylon finish off the humans anyways. Leaving me in there however would also mean we would lose. The brig skill check took place, and I was shocked that it was mostly positive! wow They were shocked that when I got out and took turns, I kept shooting at raiders, escorting civvies (Exodus Cylon Fleet Board module thing), and not spiking any skill checks. We BARELY won that game, so that proposal midgame was definitely a bold, interesting, and game winning change! cool



I've seen a case where it's possible to have this with Daybreak... The lone cylon was winning. His plan was to turn a player (whom he was good friends with IRL anyways) into a cylon just before the game ended, to switch him to the winning team. Unfortunately, I had to point out that at 8 distance, the automatic handoff mechanic does NOT trigger at that point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.