Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: event lucky question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wesley sermeus
Belgium
flag msg tools
If you have to do a skill test and difficulty is 2.
you have also 2 on that skill test.
you draw a chaos tokens and pull the -4. Do you lose by 2 the check or by 4? in Other words can you play Lucky afterwards or not?

thx
kr
wes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
wezze wrote:
If you have to do a skill test and difficulty is 2.
you have also 2 on that skill test.
you draw a chaos tokens and pull the -4. Do you lose by 2 the check or by 4? in Other words can you play Lucky afterwards or not?
wes

You lose the test by two, but if you use lucky you still lose by two, so it won't help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Owen Compton
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to explain how this works:

Your initial test result is 2 (your basic skill), you then draw the -4 (putting you on -2). If nothing else happens at this point then your final test result becomes 0 (because all values lower than 0 are treated as 0 at the END - note the stress on END). Lucky only works if you're about to fail a skill test (haven't reached final resolution) so after the -4 modifier when you're on -2 then you could play Lucky but it would only bring your score up to 0 because you don't set negative figures to 0 until the test resolves, so you'd still fail.

This is covered in the Rules Reference book under "Modifiers".
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Chamberlain
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So... Can I lucky out of a tentacle pull on a test of one or two?
What if I pull a tentacle and the test value itself is zero by way of flashlight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D H
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The Red Tentacle is Auto-fail. Which means you auto-fail. It doesn't matter what the target number was. You Auto-fail.

The only way around that is to negate the pull itself, which so far only Wendy or the Grotesque Statue can do.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.