Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Purpose of moving dead tiles? Overlord Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mick Ketchell
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmb
I'm trying to understand the Overlord Rules about moving dead tiles. You can pay the number of gems that the dead tile is currently on to move it to the very end, and flip it over?

What is the point of doing this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
playertwo811 wrote:
I'm trying to understand the Overlord Rules about moving dead tiles. You can pay the number of gems that the dead tile is currently on to move it to the very end, and flip it over?

What is the point of doing this?


You can activate a "dead" tile (one with no more miniatures on the board) to move it to the end, but you do NOT flip it over when you do so. If you place Reinforcements (via an Event tile) for a "dead" tile you DO turn it over (so that its non-bloody side is face-up), but doing so does not automatically activate or relocate that tile (it stays in its current relative position in the River until it is activated).

You may be unable (or it may cost more) to resurrect dead tiles via Reinforcements. Moving them to the end of the River by activating them reduces the cost of all other tiles. Because those tiles are "dead", though, no units are activated when this happens. Another alternative is to pay 2 gems PERMANENTLY (remove them from the game) to remove such tiles from the River completely.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The idea is to make other tiles (with units still on the map) cheaper to activate by sliding them to the left. Basically the dead tile makes things ore expensive for the OL by occupying the (in my experience) one or two energy slots.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mick Ketchell
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks man, that clears it up perfectly. I was hung up on the phrase "if the Overlord activates a facedown tile", but it makes sense now.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if you remove the tile, can you bring it back with a reinforcement action or can you only reinforce tiles in the river?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank BLACKFIRE
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Squatting Monkey wrote:
So if you remove the tile, can you bring it back with a reinforcement action or can you only reinforce tiles in the river?

If you remove a dead tile from the river, it's a definitive choice. You cannot bring the tile back. So you can only reinforce your dead tiles still in the river.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mad Halfling
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And permanently removing a tile is a free action for the Overlord, isn't it, and doesn't count as one of their 2 activations for the turn? If so, do we have this officially cited (can't remember how vague this is in the current rules)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Mad-Halfling wrote:
And permanently removing a tile is a free action for the Overlord, isn't it, and doesn't count as one of their 2 activations for the turn? If so, do we have this officially cited (can't remember how vague this is in the current rules)?


The rules clarify this unambiguously, actually, but indirectly: Dredging may be done at any time during the turn, whereas Activations can only happen during the Activation phase. Ergo, Dredging is not an Activation, and therefor not subject to Activation Limits.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Orlando
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Most of the time it does not make sense as it is a waste of gems and activation to move the dead tile to the end. In the cluthes of the pics I found it a better combination is to wait till the dead tile is at one or two gem cost, then reinforce the dead units, flip the tile, then activate them for the second activation, it is like a surprise attack on the heroes, especially the hyenas.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.