Thunderbirds» Forums » General

Subject: advice on painting the miniatures rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Spruce
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi All,

I started painting the pod vehicles last night (nod to Cat_O who's post inspired me to do it) and wondered about painting the actual thunderbird machines and character pegs. If you've painted them, did it affect gameplay in anyway? I'm just thinking things like:

Are the painted miniatures going to be durable enough to have character pegs stuck in and out of them many many times? Does the paint get damaged?
If I paint the character pegs - is it going to make it harder to tell that virgil "belongs" to thunderbird 2 (as he's not going to be green anymore) and maybe you lose the subconscious link between TB2, Virgil and a bonus to land (green) disasters?

Here's some photos of the pod vehicles i've painted so far.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guy
England
Chorleywood
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've painted the base vehicles and the characters and a I am very happy with the results. Didn't bother with the stickers in the end as they are rubbish. I bought a fine white marker pen to draw the numbers on the TB machines and that worked really well.

Re the Characters, the extra layer of paint on the pegs does make them a tighter fit, but pretty soon the paint rubs off the pegs and all is fine. I painted the sashes of the pilots to match their machine colours. I would say it is better as I found the yellow of TB4 and Orange of TB3 to be too similar in play, so my TB3 is a bit redder than the base plastic.

It's only time that has stopped me on the base vehicles. LadyP's plane and boat first then the Hood.

Geek mail and I will send pictures
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Daffin
United Kingdom
Ledbury
Herefordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb