Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Charms proficiency - discarding cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barb Hirschfelder
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you activate this proficiency (gain a coin and draw a card) when you are forced to discard cards when being stunned, etc.?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you copy the actual text, I don't have it memorized yet.

If it's stated as "when you discard, do..." then it's a react that would trigger.

If it's stated as "discard to..." then it's an action that would not be triggered.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moo Cow
msg tools
mb
No - you cannot.

If something like a proficiency says to discard a card in order to trigger something, then you have to discard a card specifically to trigger that; you cannot count a card that is being discard because of another event. For instance - if a DA card says to discard a card; discarding that card is only to resolve the DA event and the proficiency doesn't see it.

You also cannot discard a card to trigger more than one ability. Each card has to be specifically discarded willingly by the player in order to trigger that and only that ability.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.