Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Levelling and ability cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Antonio Caciolli
Italy
Padua
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
when one PC level up:

1) all new level cards are available and he/she can use them to make his hand size pool for the battle, changing one level 1 card for each level obtained above one

2) he/she must choice one card of the new level and put that card to his available pool. In this case how we can trace the choice made? writing it on the hero sheet?

I think the second choice is the one in the rule, but I am thinking to use the first one because it allows to explore better the character ability
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Working on Perdition's Mouth game content
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The level cards are available (up to your level), but you can take only one. The rules do not say you must use it in your deck. It is likely though.

If you want to experiment and modify the rules, no one can stop you. If you think your variant is better, you may mention it in the variants section.

My opinion is:
1) if you have a limited number of plays, you can experiment to play As you. You should however limit number of level 2+ cards to reflect possible amount of higher tier cards, that can give you the standard approach. Otherwise it makes you much stronger. The disadvantage of this approach is all characters of the same class become identical (speaking of cards)
2) you need to play much more to try different builds. But the characters become unique.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Almond
United Kingdom
Nelson
Lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmb
Antonio8080 wrote:
when one PC level up:

1) all new level cards are available and he/she can use them to make his hand size pool for the battle, changing one level 1 card for each level obtained above one

2) he/she must choice one card of the new level and put that card to his available pool. In this case how we can trace the choice made? writing it on the hero sheet?

I think the second choice is the one in the rule, but I am thinking to use the first one because it allows to explore better the character ability


Officially it's the second one, but it is your game.

You save your choice by how you store your cards, you can write down your choice as well if you wish.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joachim H.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Character Generation (rules p. 12)

During character creation (you are Level 1 at this point) you put every Level 1 and Level X ability card of your character to your pool of available cards.

Before starting a scenario you choose ability cards from your available pool equal to your maximum hand size (which is indicated on your character mat).
The rules state that you can do this even after drawing and selecting a battle goal for the upcoming scenario.

After finishing a scenario you put your ability cards back to your available pool.



Leveling up (rules p. 44)

When your character reaches a new Level you put exactly one new ability card to your available pool.
This card has to be equal or less than the character's new Level.
Edit. wants to point out that obviously you have to choose abilities of your character's class. whistle
Please note that Leveling up only occurs in town.

8 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Pettifer
England
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question on a similar subject. If a player wants to play a class already played, but that class has an enhanced ability card the player wants to use, can they use it without the enhancement or can they only use it with the enhancement once they've payed for it and met the various requirements (Power of Enhancement and town prosperity level)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Wickersham
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
The rules state (and various posts from Isaac) that after something is enhanced, every person who ever plays that character gets the bonus of having an enhanced card in their deck.

Although if that person ever wanted to enhance the card again, they'd have to pay the extra fee for enhancing something a second time, even if they weren't the person to enhance it the first time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.