$35.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Imperial Harvest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bard, Monk, Sorceress, and hedge questions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Pacejo
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, we have two questions about the bard.

1) When does the inspirational song ability take effect? I.e. does it affect characters who start their movement within range, who move through the range, who end their movement within range, or whom the bard passes within range of on his turn?

2) How does diagonal movement interact with obstacles, can you step around a corner?

Regarding the Sorceress, her Compulsion ability only allows forced movement within her LOS, but is the same true of Charm?

For the Monk's Grapple ability, in what direction can he throw the character? E.g. can the character be thrown two spaces to the left? One space away and one space left?

What does it mean for a hedge to be "adjacent"? Adjacency is defined in the glossary in terms of squares, but hedges are between, not in, squares. Am I correct to assume that only the (at most four) hedges which lie on the edge of the square a character is in are considered "adjacent", or does adjacency extend to hedges whose ends touch that square, or to hedges bordering adjacent squares?

Finally, if a Monk can throw "an adjacent character", and adjacency is defined to include the square itself, does this mean that a Monk can throw himself?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JT Call
United States
Pocatello
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
colanderman wrote:
Hi, we have two questions about the bard.

1) When does the inspirational song ability take effect? I.e. does it affect characters who start their movement within range, who move through the range, who end their movement within range, or whom the bard passes within range of on his turn?


All of the above? The only caveat is that you get the boost during the active character's turn.

So really it would be: "At the start of their movement (as long as they are in range) and/or whenever they move within range, receive the Inspirational Ballad boost (which means if they ran out of AP but ended their turn in range, they got boosted so they still have an extra AP to spend)." Make sense? You can't earn the boost when you are inactive, though, because you have to be active in order to spend the bonus AP.

colanderman wrote:
2) How does diagonal movement interact with obstacles, can you step around a corner?


Yes! You can step around corners (hedges, etc). That is why diagonal movement is so good.

colanderman wrote:
Regarding the Sorceress, her "Compulsion" ability only allows forced movement within her LOS, but is the same true of Charm?


They are both LOS abilities, but since Compulsion allows you to move a character multiple spaces, the "compelled" character only needs to START in LOS. So you could move a compelled character out of LOS and keep using the ability (for however many AP you chose to spend). If you moved them out of LOS and then wanted to use Charm, though, that would not work because they were moved out of LOS earlier using Compulsion.

colanderman wrote:
For the Monk's Grapple ability, in what direction can he throw the character? E.g. can the character be thrown two spaces to the left? One space away and one space left?


Yes and yes. The Monk "grapples" a character by bringing the adjacent character to his own space. Then, from that space, the Monk hurls the thrown character up to 2 spaces away. That could end up being one space diagonally if you throw them one space north and one space west...or it could be 2 spaces straight in one direction. In either case, the Monk may throw the grappled character over obstacles (hedges, moats, etc). Useful for feeding an enemy to a Hydra or getting an ally in range of a difficult-to-access strawberry.

colanderman wrote:
What does it mean for a hedge to be "adjacent"? Adjacency is defined in the glossary in terms of squares, but hedges are between, not in, squares. Am I correct to assume that only the (at most four) hedges which lie on the edge of the square a character is in are considered "adjacent", or does adjacency extend to hedges whose ends touch that square, or to hedges bordering adjacent squares?


See the bolded text above. Your assumption is correct. You are also correct in that hedges don't occupy squares (just the spaces between), which means hedges are adjacent to those squares that border their longest edges (for all intents and purposes, hedges are 2-dimensional lines, which means they only have two sides and the "short sides" aren't large enough to qualify as obstacles).

colanderman wrote:
Finally, if a Monk can throw "an adjacent character", and adjacency is defined to include the square itself, does this mean that a Monk can throw himself?


Hehe. I'm going to let you decide whether you think a Monk can really "grapple" himself by seizing hold of his tunic and then hurling his body somewhere. The laws of physics would prevent that, methinks. The Monk's "Dragon Pounce" ability (on the advanced side) is the closest thing to this (because he can move himself 1 space diagonally).

So...no. That's silly. On that same note (but much less preposterous), Bard's can't "inspire" themselves (their diagonal movement is already a mobility boost), and the Imperial Guardian can't "protect" himself and be immune to attacks (his "shield" ability already fulfills that function).

A good rule of thumb is, when in doubt, do what seems intuitive based on the theme of what is actually supposed to be happening. That is how we tried to design the rules (so that everything made sense thematically and mechanically). I feel we covered most ambiguities, but something that seems intuitive to most people may not be so obvious to the next person (especially when dealing with hobby game rules lawyers).

You can also tweet to @playbmg and we will answer rules questions within seconds.

Thanks for playing!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.