Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Silly question proably rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Trevor James
United Kingdom
Norwich, Norfolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Had my first (solo) game with Pandemic after it arrived today. The rules say that 1 cube can be discarded when a pawn lands on a city. I assume, if there are 3 actions left and 3 cubes in the city thay can all be removed. Is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Annemarie Post
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct.
With your 4 actions you can do whichever actions you want, you can repeat actions in the same turn. Just as long you don't exceed 4 actions.
So if it takes you 2 steps to go to a city, you have 2 actions left and you can remove 2 cubes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Bush
United States
West Linn
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bcoot9 wrote:
The rules say that 1 cube can be discarded when a pawn lands on a city.

I don't think it says this. It says when you are in a city, you can perform an action that removes a cube. You don't get to remove a cube by landing in a city unless you have a special character and the disease in the city has already been cured.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Soto
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
klbush wrote:
bcoot9 wrote:
The rules say that 1 cube can be discarded when a pawn lands on a city.

I don't think it says this. It says when you are in a city, you can perform an action that removes a cube. You don't get to remove a cube by landing in a city unless you have a special character and the disease in the city has already been cured.

There is another character that is similar to the Medic in On The Brink: The Containment Specialist. Unlike the Medic, the CS DOESN'T require the disease to be cured to auto remove cubes, but there is 2 more conditions: it only happens when the CS MOVES into a city (All 4 forms of travel count) and only if there's 2 or 3 cubes of the same color in the destination (If there's 2 black and 1 yellow in a city, one of the blacks get removed upon entering the city, but not the single yellow. If there's 2 blues and 2 reds in a city, then one of each are removed). Containment Specialist is not as useful as the medic when it comes to the epidemic/infect phase of the turn because of the upon entry condition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bcoot9 wrote:
Had my first (solo) game with Pandemic after it arrived today. The rules say that 1 cube can be discarded when a pawn lands on a city. I assume, if there are 3 actions left and 3 cubes in the city thay can all be removed. Is this correct?


That is not what the rules say.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Yang
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 action to drive to an adjacent city. 1 action to treat a disease (remove 1 cube). You have 2 actions left.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor James
United Kingdom
Norwich, Norfolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all these replies. All very helpful. I love this site because you can ask anything and always get polite, useful feedback. I actually found the answer to my question in the sample play through which is in the rule sheet. Looking forward to my next game today and will probably return with some more queries. Thanks again you guys!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.