Subject: 10,000ft level overview rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Colin Taylor
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, so I sat reading the rules to Bios: Genesis this morning for about 90 minutes. And I got 8 pages in. It was that tough going. Now, I've learned Pax Porfiriana and Pax Pamir without too much trouble. I even created a solo variant for Pax Porf. after only playing it one time. But there is something about this game that is blocking me out. And I have a Masters in Biochemistry!

So, rather than spend more time slogging along slowly, I feel I just need to get a high level overview of what is happening. Once I have that, maybe the details will start to fall into place. So, has anyone written this sort of 10,000ft review? It would really help, as right now, honestly, I have no mental image of how the game flows.

Thanks,

Colin
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not being silly here.
And I write this without having received my copy yet, so take it for what that's worth.
Perhaps your degree in Biochemistry is getting in the way?
It is a game, not life.
Perhaps you need to unlearn stuff for this to make sense?

PLB.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I share your pain, Colin - this is the most challenging rulebook since High Frontier.

A seasoned member of my group had the same reaction as you upon trying to read the rules (he gave up).

My advice: just setup the game and play, picking up the rules as you go along for each phase.

I taught another friend the game last night, and other than a few nit errors, we really didn't have any problems (and had a great time).

It'll take extra effort, but (as trite as this may sound) it's well worth it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Taylor
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Steve,