$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacking an Exhausted Enemy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Does an investigator have to engage an exhausted enemy at their location to attack it or can they just attack it without engaging like if it was engaged with another investigator?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
theguy2687 wrote:
Does an investigator have to engage an exhausted enemy at their location to attack it or can they just attack it without engaging like if it was engaged with another investigator?

The latter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D H
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
More specifically, you can legally attack any enemy in your location.

However, if that enemy is engaged with another investigator, if you miss you hit that investigator instead (naughty!).

In addition, some weapons or events may not have full effect if you are not engaged with your target (the Machete won't get its +1 damage unless you are engaged with the target, for instance).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Łukasz Szymak
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
but attacking enemy wich is not engaged with anybody You automatically engage with it? is that true?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Scutt
United Kingdom
Matlock
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Attacking doesn't make you automatically engaged. But almost everything else does (pg. 13 of Learn to Play), so it's difficult to imagine how you would be at a location with a ready enemy without it being engaged with someone.

Two things to remember:
You don't have to be engaged with an enemy to attack it
You can attack Exhausted enemies
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Łukasz Szymak
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks but... pg. 11 of the same Learn to Play under Fight action? there is a phrase that at the beginning of the Fight action You engages the enemy... I have polish rulebook so it may be some mistranslations.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anselmo Diaz
United Kingdom
Crawley
West Sussex
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd like to see ranged weapons for the investigators.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
szukasz wrote:
thanks but... pg. 11 of the same Learn to Play under Fight action? there is a phrase that at the beginning of the Fight action You engages the enemy... I have polish rulebook so it may be some mistranslations.

Here's the entire English text for that part:

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Steerpike wrote:
No. Attacking doesn't make you automatically engaged. But almost everything else does (pg. 13 of Learn to Play), so it's difficult to imagine how you would be at a location with a ready enemy without it being engaged with someone.


Aloof
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Łukasz Szymak
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, nothing about engagement. Polish publisher made one nice mistake... Thank You for clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donnie L
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does an aloof enemy ever engage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Outtkast wrote:
Does an aloof enemy ever engage?


There would have to be instructions on the Card saying so. Otherwise, not unless an Investigator engages with it.

Also, Aloof Enemies can't be Attacked unless the Attacker is Engaged with them, the situation the Original Poster was asking about.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donnie L
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Esgaldil wrote:
Outtkast wrote:
Does an aloof enemy ever engage?


There would have to be instructions on the Card saying so. Otherwise, not unless an Investigator engages with it.

Also, Aloof Enemies can't be Attacked unless the Attacker is Engaged with them, the situation the Original Poster was asking about.


Thanks. Makes them seem like punching bags, you can ignore them unless you feel like engaging and whaling on them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Outtkast wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Outtkast wrote:
Does an aloof enemy ever engage?


There would have to be instructions on the Card saying so. Otherwise, not unless an Investigator engages with it.

Also, Aloof Enemies can't be Attacked unless the Attacker is Engaged with them, the situation the Original Poster was asking about.


Thanks. Makes them seem like punching bags, you can ignore them unless you feel like engaging and whaling on them.

Not seen an Aloof yet (only played first scenario thus far), but I would imagine they do bad stuff like accumulating doom tokens if you leave them alone (don't want to know though, so, to anyone thinking of commenting, if there are any in the core set, please put any details in spoiler tags!)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
chubber911 wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
Outtkast wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
Outtkast wrote:
Does an aloof enemy ever engage?


There would have to be instructions on the Card saying so. Otherwise, not unless an Investigator engages with it.

Also, Aloof Enemies can't be Attacked unless the Attacker is Engaged with them, the situation the Original Poster was asking about.


Thanks. Makes them seem like punching bags, you can ignore them unless you feel like engaging and whaling on them.

Not seen an Aloof yet (only played first scenario thus far), but I would imagine they do bad stuff like accumulating doom tokens if you leave them alone (don't want to know though, so, to anyone thinking of commenting, if there are any in the core set, please put any details in spoiler tags!)


Perhaps they are homeless people asleep on park benches that are worth several victory points!


That's an Investigator. His name's Pete.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
soulblight
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
There would have to be instructions on the Card saying so. Otherwise, not unless an Investigator engages with it.

Also, Aloof Enemies can't be Attacked unless the Attacker is Engaged with them, the situation the Original Poster was asking about.


An investigator can attack an Aloof enemy at their location as long as an investigator is engaged with it. The investigator attacking doesn't have to be the one engaged.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
somaluna wrote:
Esgaldil wrote:
There would have to be instructions on the Card saying so. Otherwise, not unless an Investigator engages with it.

Also, Aloof Enemies can't be Attacked unless the Attacker is Engaged with them, the situation the Original Poster was asking about.


An investigator can attack an Aloof enemy at their location as long as an investigator is engaged with it. The investigator attacking doesn't have to be the one engaged.


Good catch! My brain read "an investigator" in that part of the rules as if it were a name. Jaqen H'ghar style, I suppose - An Investigator has engaged an enemy. An Investigator has sent an enemy to the Many-Faced God. An Investigator still has an action left.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.