GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,597 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

A Feast for Odin» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple of questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Try More
msg tools
Hey,

- when you place tiles on your main board, do these tiles have to be connected? Or is it allowed to place them wherever you want? It feels wasted to place tiles on fields without -1

- when the ressource stripes go empty during the worker placement phase, do they get replaced immediately (or just in phase 11)? In a 2 player game, can there be more than 2 stripes at the same time?

- when you place 4 workers, you can play a card. If the card relates to the action you just took, does the effect take place immediately? When a card says, you gather a ressource before taking an action, can you spend that ressource on that action (for example you get a stone and then spend the stone on the action, and you have no other stone)?

- can you upgrade sheep and cows into the green tiles with the same size?

- some of the grey special tiles have blacksmith's tongs on them. But one of them is located on the bigger area, where the other tiles do not have blacksmith's tongs on them? Can you take this tile with the ore action, or is it a misprint?

- can you take more than one building of the same type? Can you take more than one island?

- when you go through the weapon deck for a certain weapon, should you shuffle the deck afterwards?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Annemarie Post
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Most of your questions have been discussed here in the forums, so I'll just answer them shortly. If you want to, you can find the reasoning for some things in other threads.

Quote:


- when you place tiles on your main board, do these tiles have to be connected? Or is it allowed to place them wherever you want? It feels wasted to place tiles on fields without -1


The tiles don't have to be connected. Just make sure not to cover income spaces that you are not allowed to cover yet.
The advantage of covering spaces without -1, e.g. to get more income or to get bonuses.

Quote:

- when the ressource stripes go empty during the worker placement phase, do they get replaced immediately (or just in phase 11)? In a 2 player game, can there be more than 2 stripes at the same time?


You only replace mountain strips in phase 11 of the round. There can be more than 2 strips at the same time.


Quote:
- when you place 4 workers, you can play a card. If the card relates to the action you just took, does the effect take place immediately? When a card says, you gather a ressource before taking an action, can you spend that ressource on that action (for example you get a stone and then spend the stone on the action, and you have no other stone)?


Yes

Quote:
- can you upgrade sheep and cows into the green tiles with the same size?


Yes

Quote:
- some of the grey special tiles have blacksmith's tongs on them. But one of them is located on the bigger area, where the other tiles do not have blacksmith's tongs on them? Can you take this tile with the ore action, or is it a misprint?


You can take the crucifix (and the jewels that are with the other 'normal' tiles) with the ore action.


Quote:
- can you take more than one building of the same type? Can you take more than one island?


Yes

Quote:
- when you go through the weapon deck for a certain weapon, should you shuffle the deck afterwards?


That's probably the best thing to do, though I doubt there's an official ruling on this.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trymore wrote:

- when you go through the weapon deck for a certain weapon, should you shuffle the deck afterwards?


Most of the time you should be able to find the weapon card in the discard pile. If you do take it from the deck, then certainly you should shuffle it afterwards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
How can there be more than 2 stripes? You replace the empty stripes with new stripes, so it remains 2?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich P
United Kingdom
Sheffield
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I didn't know what to do with my UberBadge, so I left it as a GeekBadge.
badge
Planning...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trymore wrote:
How can there be more than 2 stripes? You replace the empty stripes with new stripes, so it remains 2?!


You always add a new mountain strip each round, regardless of what happens with the existing strips.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Kelly
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Trymore,

You are NOT replacing empty mountain strips with new ones. You are adding a new strip in the 11th phase; regardless of what is already out there.

Specific steps:
1. Remove 1 resource from the left side of all the strips.
2. Remove strips
-- If any strip has only the rightmost 2-piece silver left on the strip, remove the silver
-- If any strip is empty, remove the strip
3. Place a new mountain strip in play and put the resources on it

It is very common to end up with more than two mountain strips, especially toward the later rounds.

Trymore wrote:
How can there be more than 2 stripes? You replace the empty stripes with new stripes, so it remains 2?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trymore wrote:
How can there be more than 2 stripes? You replace the empty stripes with new stripes, so it remains 2?!

As the first reply said, your questions have all been asked and answered in these forums before.
Replacing Mountain Tiles during the Action Phase
When do mountain tiles clear?

Also check out the errata and corrected rule book in the files section:
Errata and FAQ of the 1st English Edition
English Rulebook
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Morton
msg tools
Avatar
TimeOut wrote:

Specific steps:
1. Remove 1 resource from the left side of all the strips.
2. Remove strips
-- If any strip has only the rightmost 2-piece silver left on the strip, remove the silver
-- If any strip is empty, remove the strip

The bolded part is incorrect--your listed step 1 is the only time you remove resources from the strips at the end of the turn. See here and here.

Anny48 wrote:
Quote:
- when you place 4 workers, you can play a card. If the card relates to the action you just took, does the effect take place immediately? When a card says, you gather a ressource before taking an action, can you spend that ressource on that action (for example you get a stone and then spend the stone on the action, and you have no other stone)?

Yes

To clarify a little further here, the rulebook says you're allowed to play the occupation before or after you take the associated action. So if you have something that would trigger from / give you the resources for the action, you can play the occupation before; if you have an occupation that needs resources you'll be getting from the action, you can choose to play it after.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
When you gather tiles, do you have to place them on the board at some point, or can I just stack them until the last round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trymore wrote:
When you gather tiles, do you have to place them on the board at some point, or can I just stack them until the last round?

You do not have to place them immediately, you can hold them in your supply as long as you want. However if you're not placing most (or all) of them to start generating income and bonuses you won't be very successful.

Sometimes you will want to keep them in your supply for various reasons, like gaining benefits from certain occupations or for converting them into other things in later turns.

But in general you're not just stockpiling tiles to place in the final round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Try More
msg tools
The rules say that you can place tiles (and money/ore) whenever you want. So when you gain money in phase 7 you can place that money immediately in order to get bonus tiles in phase 10?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trymore wrote:
The rules say that you can place tiles (and money/ore) whenever you want. So when you gain money in phase 7 you can place that money immediately in order to get bonus tiles in phase 10?

Yep. The rules explicitly say you can do this.

You can not, however, place goods you receive during the bonus phase to unlock additional bonuses that same phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.