Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does Pestilence's ability affect Fights or Corruption checks? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Pestilence (one of the four Apocalyse Demons from the Apocalypse) expansion has the following ability: "All Corruption tokens in the same Space as Pestilence roll an additional die against Heroes."

How do you interpret this? Does this mean "in Corruption checks, roll an additional die per token" or does it mean "in Fights, roll an additional die per token"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joao Rodrigues
Brazil
Guarulhos
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I read it as both choices are correct. For each corruption token in the same space, the sin player will roll an extra die in every situation it is supposed to roll dice.

EDIT: After Paul's comment, I've changed my mind. I'd go with his reading.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Glickman
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
That seems like a strange reading. It says exactly that all corruption spaces roll an extra die, so when they roll a die, roll a second.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joao Rodrigues
Brazil
Guarulhos
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul G wrote:
That seems like a strange reading. It says exactly that all corruption spaces roll an extra die, so when they roll a die, roll a second.

You know what, I think you are right. Double reading it, it says about the corruption token rolling dice. The corruption token only rolls dice when on corruption check. So yeah, looks like it is only for corruption checks, not on fights as well.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording is so clear that, in all honesty, I can't imagine why anyone would consider rolling extra dice during fights.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Claus Appel
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Johnnymaxx wrote:
Paul G wrote:
That seems like a strange reading. It says exactly that all corruption spaces roll an extra die, so when they roll a die, roll a second.

You know what, I think you are right. Double reading it, it says about the corruption token rolling dice. The corruption token only rolls dice when on corruption check. So yeah, looks like it is only for corruption checks, not on fights as well.

OK. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.