$35.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Wir sind das Volk!» Forums » Rules

Subject: 9.1 Flight from the Republic and advance caused by West Berlin LS rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
CARL SKUTSCH
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Agricola, Sekigahara, Concordia, Innovation, COOKIE!!! (and Guinness)
badge
SANJURO: You're all tough, then? GAMBLER: What? Kill me if you can! SANJURO: It'll hurt.
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, in the beginning of the rules it says
Important Definition: West Germany consists of all FRG provinces excluding West Berlin.

Now in 9.1 it says
for each LS in one West province with the most LS


So, does West Berlin count as a West Province for this rule, or is 9.1 referring to West Germany and so excludes West Berlin?

(The whole 'when West Berlin counts and when it doesn't' is a bit confusing for me.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
West has 8 provinces, one of which is West Berlin.

The 7 West provinces other than West Berlin collectively constitute West Germany.

Rule 9.1 refers to the West, not West Germany - so that rule does comprehend West Berlin.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Benson
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
...and I'm back in the game!
mbmbmbmbmb
skutsch wrote:
Ok, in the beginning of the rules it says
Important Definition: West Germany consists of all FRG provinces excluding West Berlin.

Now in 9.1 it says
for each LS in one West province with the most LS

So, does West Berlin count as a West Province for this rule, or is 9.1 referring to West Germany and so excludes West Berlin?

(The whole 'when West Berlin counts and when it doesn't' is a bit confusing for me.)


Notice that it says "for each LS in one West province with the most LS" and not "for each LS in one West Germany province with the most LS." It calls out the difference in the rules because some cards specify that they occur in West Germany, so you cannot apply the effect to West Berlin (as that does not count as part of West Germany).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mb
the answers are correct.

(The defintion of West Germany is indeed needed only for some events, which allow placement/removal of unrest cubes and LS in West Germany, but not West Berlin.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CARL SKUTSCH
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Agricola, Sekigahara, Concordia, Innovation, COOKIE!!! (and Guinness)
badge
SANJURO: You're all tough, then? GAMBLER: What? Kill me if you can! SANJURO: It'll hurt.
mbmbmbmbmb
rsivel wrote:
the answers are correct.

(The defintion of West Germany is indeed needed only for some events, which allow placement/removal of unrest cubes and LS in West Germany, but not West Berlin.)

Thanks everyone, and Mr. Designer too!

I'm enjoying figuring out your game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Toth
Hungary
flag msg tools
I still don't understand completely the usage of phrases "West" and "West Germany".

Rule 9.3 (rulebook p7-8) says:

"Each East export factory whose value is at least equal to the worst West export factory gives East 1 WC. Should West have a province without factories, every East export factory will give East 1 WC - even a rundown 0-value factory."

Shouldn't we understand it this way? -->

"Each East export factory whose value is at least equal to the worst West German export factory gives East 1 WC. Should West Germany have a province without factories, every East export factory will give East 1 WC - even a rundown 0-value factory."

Since West Berlin is part of West and not West Germany and it cannot have its own factory the quoted sentence would imply that the value of the worst West export factory is always 0.

(But anyway... this game is just amazing! That's why I'm so eager to understand it completely.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right - I caught this about a year ago:
Re: Lowest export factory West
Re: Western currency east export factory 0 question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabor Toth
Hungary
flag msg tools
Thanks! Good catch! :-D (I'll insert it into my rulebook.)

Do you know by any chance the answer for my other question I posted yesterday? :-) We had a little discussion about it the other day.


https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1265780/guillaume-affair

Gaborg wrote:
Can you still further clarify me #3?
If I draw 2 cards from the deck and exchange one of the cards with a card from my hand, should I shuffle the draw pile again? Or it's up to me in which order I put the two cards back on the top of the draw deck? It can be relevant if the special card is still on the board, so I can also manipulate which card to be drawn by West after I play the special card event later.

This question makes sense only in connection with the official rules changes:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1509731/rules-changes-versi...

Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.