Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Clank!: A Deck-Building Adventure» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retroactive Swords? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Stalcup
Thailand
Bangkok
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Loving this game so far, but my wife and I have one rules question.

Suppose I walk through a monster corridor and take 1 damage to get to a room. In that room, I pick up the minor secret that gives me two swords (or, scenario B: I get to the market and buy a crown that then activates the extra sword on my Mountain King in play).

Can I retroactively undo the damage I took in the passage earlier?

My wife and I decided for that game that we could NOT undo the damage, as thematically the damage had already been taken before the potion was acquired in the room (and the potion wouldn't have been acquired without suffering the monster damage), but we're wondering what the official ruling would be. Any help here?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Dennen
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Hi Michael, you absolutely played it correctly by the official rules. No time travel sword fighting allowed!
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benito Guison
Philippines
flag msg tools
I understand the timing of the rule for combat through moving between passages, but for the mountain king if I used him to walk to the market, then buy a crown, do i then get the additional boot to move to the next space?

thanks for such a great game
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ice Man
United States
Oak Park
IL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The designer has said that the cards are designed to 'look both ways' so that the order in which you play them does not matter. So playing something like Swagger doesn't care about where your clank comes from.

I take this to mean you can impress the king with your new bling and he'll get you to the next room.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.