$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Morgan Brown
msg tools
If you do any actiom before your free move action do you lose the ability to perform the free move? Or is the rule just referring to you can spend 1 of your say 3 free moves then move the other 2 after an attack?

The overlord can only attack with a unit once per activation... But what do spells count as? Are they only 1 per activation even if not an attack spell?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aditya C
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure you can only use one spell per activation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HeroicTheNerd wrote:
If you do any actiom before your free move action do you lose the ability to perform the free move? Or is the rule just referring to you can spend 1 of your say 3 free moves then move the other 2 after an attack?


See thread 1665460.

HeroicTheNerd wrote:
The overlord can only attack with a unit once per activation... But what do spells count as? Are they only 1 per activation even if not an attack spell?


The rules place no explicit limit on spells other than their individual exertion limits. It is perfectly fine to teleport multiple times in a turn, as Teleport has no exertion limit, but each casting pays its full casting cost anew.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Williamson
United States
Bloomfield
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
HeroicTheNerd wrote:
If you do any actiom before your free move action do you lose the ability to perform the free move? Or is the rule just referring to you can spend 1 of your say 3 free moves then move the other 2 after an attack?


At the start of your action phase, before performing any action, you may spend up to X movement points(where x is the move value of the character) as a free action.

If you spend crystals on any action space or spell, your available movement becomes 0 for the turn unless you spend crystals.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SmallRealities wrote:

At the start of your action phase, before performing any action, you may spend up to X movement points(where x is the move value of the character) as a free action.

If you spend crystals on any action space or spell, your available movement becomes 0 for the turn unless you spend crystals.


That's a common interpretation, but not the correct one. You may "claim" your free movement points once per turn, at any point in the turn, even after attacking, [EDIT:] so long as you have no yet performed a move that turn. Once you have claimed your free points, any non-movement action removes any remaining free movement points. See thread 1665460 for a longer discussion.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Drake
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Here's an example:

Conan wants to move 2 space and engage some hyenas. He puts a gem in the move box, then moves 2 spots and burns three gems whacking all three of them at the same time (he can do that, he's a bad-ass). Then he wants to chase Skuthus, but Skuthus is 3 spaces away, so that will cost 3 gems (meaning he probably won't do that).

Conan could have moved three spaces at the beginning, but after he moved, he fought the hyenas, so he lost that one free move.

Another example:

Conan has two pict warriors in his space, and a giant snake is threatening Shavatas three spaces away. Conan spends 2 gems to attack, kills both picts, then hauls ass. He puts 1 gem in the move box and goes 3 spaces, then does whatever it is Conan does (likely kill things).

The first example shows how Conan can't split his free moves. The second example shows how he can do something and then still get his free move because he's not splitting it.

In the first example, Conan could not have just spent 2 gems to move, saving his free move for later. He gets that free move one time during his turn, and only the first time he puts a gem in that spot. He also can't just take a free 2-space move - he has to allocate a gem if he wants to move, so his minimum move the first time he spends a gem is 3 spaces.
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bifi 666
msg tools
mbmb
VixenTor: Your interpretation does not seem correct to me, since then the movement points would not be free.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Hardin
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
VixenTorGames wrote:
Here's an example:

Conan wants to move 2 space and engage some hyenas. He puts a gem in the move box, then moves 2 spots and burns three gems whacking all three of them at the same time (he can do that, he's a bad-ass). Then he wants to chase Skuthus, but Skuthus is 3 spaces away, so that will cost 3 gems (meaning he probably won't do that).

Conan could have moved three spaces at the beginning, but after he moved, he fought the hyenas, so he lost that one free move.

Another example:

Conan has two pict warriors in his space, and a giant snake is threatening Shavatas three spaces away. Conan spends 2 gems to attack, kills both picts, then hauls ass. He puts 1 gem in the move box and goes 3 spaces, then does whatever it is Conan does (likely kill things).

The first example shows how Conan can't split his free moves. The second example shows how he can do something and then still get his free move because he's not splitting it.

In the first example, Conan could not have just spent 2 gems to move, saving his free move for later. He gets that free move one time during his turn, and only the first time he puts a gem in that spot. He also can't just take a free 2-space move - he has to allocate a gem if he wants to move, so his minimum move the first time he spends a gem is 3 spaces.



Wait.... you have to put a gem into the move space to get your free movement points? That's not correct is it?

These effin rules. WORST I've ever encountered. I'd even take a Fantasy Flight written rule book over this one any day.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Hoffmann
United States
Fitchburg
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kingarthur1976 wrote:

Wait.... you have to put a gem into the move space to get your free movement points? That's not correct is it?


No, it is not. The free movement points are exactly that. Free.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Drake
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
OK, so I was wrong. It happens a lot - ask my wife.

New example:

Conan wants to move 1 space and engage some hyenas. He does not have to spend any gems and moves 1 spot and burns three gems whacking all three of them at the same time (he can do that, he's a bad-ass). Then he wants to chase Skuthus, but Skuthus is 3 spaces away, so that will cost 3 gems (meaning he probably won't do that).

Conan could have moved two spaces at the beginning, but after he moved, he fought the hyenas, so he lost that one free move.

New example:

Conan has two pict warriors in his space, and a giant snake is threatening Shavatas three spaces away. Conan spends 2 gems to attack, kills both picts, then hauls ass. He puts 1 gem in the move box and goes 3 spaces, then does whatever it is Conan does (likely kill things).

The first example shows how Conan can't split his free moves. The second example shows how he can do something and then still get his free move because he's not splitting it.

In the first example, Conan could not have just spent 2 gems to move, saving his free move for later. He gets that free move one time during his turn, and only the first time he moves.

Better?
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Hardin
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
VixenTorGames wrote:
OK, so I was wrong. It happens a lot - ask my wife.

New example:

Conan wants to move 1 space and engage some hyenas. He does not have to spend any gems and moves 1 spot and burns three gems whacking all three of them at the same time (he can do that, he's a bad-ass). Then he wants to chase Skuthus, but Skuthus is 3 spaces away, so that will cost 3 gems (meaning he probably won't do that).

Conan could have moved two spaces at the beginning, but after he moved, he fought the hyenas, so he lost that one free move.

New example:

Conan has two pict warriors in his space, and a giant snake is threatening Shavatas three spaces away. Conan spends 2 gems to attack, kills both picts, then hauls ass. He puts 1 gem in the move box and goes 3 spaces, then does whatever it is Conan does (likely kill things).

The first example shows how Conan can't split his free moves. The second example shows how he can do something and then still get his free move because he's not splitting it.

In the first example, Conan could not have just spent 2 gems to move, saving his free move for later. He gets that free move one time during his turn, and only the first time he moves.

Better?


Indeed!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mad Halfling
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
VixenTorGames wrote:
New example:

Conan has two pict warriors in his space, and a giant snake is threatening Shavatas three spaces away. Conan spends 2 gems to attack, kills both picts, then hauls ass. He puts 1 gem in the move box and goes 3 spaces, then does whatever it is Conan does (likely kill things).


Not quite (but this may have been a mistake in your post): the free movement allowance doesn't cost a gem to use, when you activate it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Zsolt
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
VixenTorGames was correct. 1 gem was needed because Conan moved 3 spaces. 2 free plus 1 with the gem. Better explanation would have been: Conan takes his 2 free moves and then pays a gem for his third.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.