Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Double mutation death rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Laura roxer
Spain
flag msg tools
Can wen use a Revive token when a characters dies for a double mutation issue?
The revive token reads that can be used on Ko'd Heroes, so I think that the answer is "no".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, dead heroes need to be revived at church, KO'd heroes use the revive token if there is one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Curtis
United States
Prospect Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Double Mutation is un-recoverable dead...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wystan wrote:
Double Mutation is un-recoverable dead...


Can't they be revived in Church??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Price
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
KevBelisle wrote:
wystan wrote:
Double Mutation is un-recoverable dead...


Can't they be revived in Church??


a) yes, the cause that killed them is assumed transitory (like a bullet or claw swipe to the head)
b) no, because they still have the cause of their death present (the double mutation)
c) no, they've turned into a puddle of slime

The actual text from the Swamps adventure book is "...they have mutated beyond recognition and have become little more than a writhing mass of tentacles and goo. That Hero is considered to be Dead (though they may still be Resurrected at the Church in Town."

So the answer is really (a), but take your pick and play appropriately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So the answer is A, anything else is a house rule.

I was scared we had misplayed our last game!

In the final room, our US Marshall took a Corruption hit, developed a Mutation, and managed to roll the exact same Mutation he already had. A 1/36 chance... He rolled so bad that whole game. cry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jee Fu
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah we ran into this too. It's certainly (a) for the reasons described above, so the only logical conclusion is that the resurrection removes the second instance of the mutation.

We had a Saloon Girl turn into a solid ruby statue after getting "Rock Skin" twice. The Bandido wanted to sell her for $$$ but the posse overruled it and got the local Preacher to channel a Stone-to-Flesh miracle - similar to what happened to Lot's wife, but in reverse.

- Jee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone ..................
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They basically become a Chet, like in the movie Weird Science, so there's something that can be transformed back into the Hero at the Church.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The other way to see it is that you don't actually have 2 of the same mutation. When you roll a mutation you already have, instead of getting said mutation a second time, you die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura roxer
Spain
flag msg tools
Thanks to all, clear!!!
I rolled bad all the game too, this was another bad throw...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A double mutation death happened to the Rancher in my 3 player posse; now we all wear Dark Stone Buckles to minimize the threat of it happening again (plus it provides an extra opportunity to get a favorable mutation.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Curtis
United States
Prospect Park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow, I missed that (Have not had too many mutations as we get cleansed often... )

rpvt wrote:
KevBelisle wrote:
wystan wrote:
Double Mutation is un-recoverable dead...


Can't they be revived in Church??


a) yes, the cause that killed them is assumed transitory (like a bullet or claw swipe to the head)
b) no, because they still have the cause of their death present (the double mutation)
c) no, they've turned into a puddle of slime

The actual text from the Swamps adventure book is "...they have mutated beyond recognition and have become little more than a writhing mass of tentacles and goo. That Hero is considered to be Dead (though they may still be Resurrected at the Church in Town."

So the answer is really (a), but take your pick and play appropriately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Harman
United States
Ontario
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KevBelisle wrote:

The other way to see it is that you don't actually have 2 of the same mutation. When you roll a mutation you already have, instead of getting said mutation a second time, you die.


This is what I've always assumed.

But it's really pure fluff, so assume what you like best.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laura roxer
Spain
flag msg tools
It's my next buy!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.