Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pax Renaissance Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can crown be sold? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are 2 "queens"/crowns in expansion with "sell this card for 4 florins "ability.
Is it legal to use crown/queen and then sell only the crown with king remaining?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
There are 2 "queens"/crowns in expansion with "sell this card for 4 florins "ability.
Is it legal to use crown/queen and then sell only the crown with king remaining?


Thematically, selling a queen is equivalent of expending your influence in the royal pair, so I think you should not be able to sell just the queen. The Living Rules add a sentence saying that you must sell a coronated pair as a set, (a set for 6 florins in the expansion cases you mention):

E3. Sell card.
Discard a card and receive 2 Florins from China. The card sold must come from your Hand or your Tableau. If the latter, Discard all Queens, Vassals, and Tokens on the sold card. A coronated pair (I1) must be sold as a set, for 4 Florins total. See “Discard” in the glossary.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
There are 2 "queens"/crowns in expansion with "sell this card for 4 florins "ability.
Is it legal to use crown/queen and then sell only the crown with king remaining?

AI have another question, how this cards work. Is the abitily of selling a card for 4 florins active, when you sell the card directly from hand?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
rafal100 wrote:
There are 2 "queens"/crowns in expansion with "sell this card for 4 florins "ability.
Is it legal to use crown/queen and then sell only the crown with king remaining?

AI have another question, how this cards work. Is the abitily of selling a card for 4 florins active, when you sell the card directly from hand?


Yes, this is active either from Tableau, or from Hand.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Thatcher
United States
Lake Forest
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So is this an exception to the rule that abilities are only active if/when they are in your tableau?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.